Available languages:

Last checked: 16/11/2018

Austria – Austria

Austria has an agreement with a number of countries in Europe, which allows, in principle, travel with a passport that expired not more than five years ago. These countries are: Belgium, Croatia, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Italy, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, Malta, Monaco, the Netherlands, Portugal, San Marino, Slovenia, Spain and Switzerland.

However, in view of current border controls, valid passports should always be used. Some airlines may also deny boarding to passengers with expired passports, under their conditions of carriage. Passengers are therefore advised to travel only with a valid passport or identity card.

Detailed information on what to do if your passport is lost or stolende in Austria or abroad.

See main information on this topic

Need support from assistance services?

Get in touch with specialised assistance services

Share this page: