Navigation path

Updated : 18/05/2016

Unemployment & benefits

The way social security is organised differs greatly within Europe, and every EU country remains free to design its social security system independently.

EU rules determine however under which country's system you should be insured when two or more countries are involved - for instance, if you live or work abroad in the EU.

Find out about:

Looking for a job abroad?
Start your search here - job openings

In this case, the 28 EU member states + Iceland, Norway, Liechtenstein and Switzerland

Retour au texte en cours.