Important legal notices
  Skip language selection barCastellanoDanskDeutschEllinikaEnglishFrançaisItalianoNederlandsPortuguêsSuomiSvenska
European flag
NewsActivitiesInstitutionsThe EU at a glanceEU DocumentsInformation sources
What's new? | Search | Contact | About EUROPA
  Expiry of the ECSC Treaty

Archivos - Arkiv - Archiv - Αρχεία - Archives
Archives - Archivio - Archief - Arquivos - Arkistot - Arkiv

The Treaty establishing the European Coal and Steel Community (ECSC) was signed in Paris on 18 April 1951 by Belgium, Germany, France, Italy, Luxembourg and the Netherlands. It was concluded for a period of fifty years and, having entered into force on 23 July 1952, is due to expire on 23 July 2002.

Historically, the ECSC was the practical follow-up to the Schuman declaration of 9 May 1950, which proposed placing Franco-German production of coal and steel under a common High Authority within the framework of an organisation open to the participation of the other countries of Europe. The purpose of this portal is to provide information on the expiry of the Treaty and to answer the various questions which may arise, particularly as regards institutional, political, financial and budgetary aspects of the ECSC's disappearance.

For further information:

Top of the page