Navigation path

Left navigation

Additional tools

Other available languages: FR DE


Brussels, 2nd July 2008

Corporate governance: Commission appoints new members of European Corporate Governance Forum

The European Commission has appointed the members for the next term of office of the European Corporate Governance Forum. The Forum was set up in 2004 to identify and promote exchange of best practices in corporate governance and to provide high-level policy advice to the Commission.

Internal Market and Services Commissioner Charlie McCreevy said: “The Forum has done a great job during the last three years in addressing the issues that are at the heart of the corporate governance debate in the EU. Effective corporate governance is essential if investors and creditors are to have confidence in capital markets. It is important that the Forum's work in this area continues."

The new Forum comprises ten members whose mandate was renewed, and five new members. The members are senior experts from various professional backgrounds (issuers, investors, academics, regulators, auditors, etc.) whose experience and knowledge of corporate governance are widely recognized at European level.

Members of the Forum are appointed for three years. The Forum meets, under the chairmanship of the Commission, two to three times a year and delivers a yearly report to the Commission.

More information on the European Corporate Governance Forum is available at:


Members of the European Corporate Governance Forum

  • Antonio Borges (PT), Chairman of the Hedge Fund Standards Board and of the European Corporate Governance Institute; board member for several corporations
  • Bistra Boeva (BG), University for national and world economic studies Sofia
  • Niklas Bruun (FI), Swedish School of Economics and Business Administration, (Hanken)
  • Bertrand Collomb (FR), Honorary Chairman of Lafarge and former Chairman of ‘Association Française des Entreprises Privées’ (AFEP)
  • David Devlin (IE), Partner PricewaterhouseCoopers
  • Jose Maria Garrido Garcia (ES), University of Castilla - La Mancha, member of the Spanish Commission for Corporate Governance
  • Peter Montagnon (UK), Head of Investment Affairs, Association of British Insurers
  • Klaus-Peter Müller (DE), Chairman of the Supervisory Board of Commerzbank, President of the German Corporate Governance Code Commission
  • Colette Neuville (FR), Chairman of the Association de défense des actionnaires minoritaires (ADAM)
  • Roland Oetker (DE), Chairman of Deutsche Schutzvereinigung für Wertpapierbesitz (DSW)
  • Marek Sowa (PL), President of the Management Board of Agora SA
  • Rolf Skog (SE), University of Stockholm
  • Trelawny Williams (UK), Director Corporate Finance, Fidelity International
  • Jaap Winter (NL), Partner at De Brauw Blackstone Westbroek and Professor at the University of Amsterdam
  • Eddy Wymeersch (BE), Chairman of the Belgian Banking, Finance and Insurance Commission (CBFA) and of the Committee of European Securities Regulators

Side Bar