Navigation path

Left navigation

Additional tools

Other available languages: FR DE ES IT PL SL

Brussels, 9 June 2008

Towards a new culture for urban mobility:
EESC listens to civil society's views on EU research for sustainable urban transport

"MOVE TOGETHER" launching conference
Monday, 16 June 2008, 9h00–19h00
VENUE: European Economic and Social Committee, Room VMA 3
Rue Van Maerlant 2, 1040 Brussels

On 16 June 2008 the European Economic and Social Committee (EESC) will host in Brussels the launching conference of the research project “MOVE TOGETHER", financed under the European Commission's 7th Framework Programme for RTD. Co-organised with the Institute of Studies for the Integration of Systems (ISIS, Italy), leader of the project consortium, the conference will establish a dialogue between citizens from the 27 EU member states representing the different cultures and urban settings of Europe and experienced stakeholders and decision-makers in the urban transport sector. “MOVE TOGETHER" aims to provide civil-society inputs to the European Commission Green Paper “Towards a new culture for urban mobility” and the action plan in preparation.

European research on urban transport contributes to developing the best options to achieve a sustainable urban mobility for a greener, smarter, more accessible and safer city for all. The "MOVE TOGETHER" project has as a key objective to bridge the gap between research and practice by raising citizens' awareness and appreciation of this EU research. The key message of the project is that raising the awareness of current or expected achievements of EU research will help citizens and the decision makers across Europe to “move together” towards a new and more sustainable urban mobility culture.

The project has organised two focus groups of 27 lay citizens selected randomly from all the EU Member States to become informed on the EU urban transport research and give their appreciation of research efforts and achievements. The citizens will present and discuss their appreciation with various stakeholders and EU policy makers at the launching conference opened by Mr Stephane Buffetaut (EESC Group I, Employers, France), Vice-President of the EESC's Section for Transport, Energy, Infrastructure and Information Society, and Mr Carlo Sessa, Move Together Coordinator (ISIS).

The event will include key addresses by Mr András Siegler, Director of the Transport Directorate of DG RTD, European, European Commission, Mr Rafael Barbadillo (EESC Group I, Employers, Spain), co-rapporteur of the EESC opinion on the Green Paper "Towards a new culture of urban mobility", Mr Lutz Ribbe (EESC Group III, Various Interests, Germany), EESC rapporteur on the "Transport in metropolitan areas" opinion, and Mr Benoit Derenne, Director of the NGO Foundation for Future Generations, European Citizens' Panel Initiative.

More details regarding the program of the "MOVE TOGETHER" launching conference are available at:

"MOVE TOGETHER" is a project coordinated by the Institute of Studies for the Integration of Systems (ISIS, Italy). Project members are: The Interdisciplinary Centre for Comparative Research in the Social Sciences (ICCR, Austria), Missions Publiques (France), ADELPHI Research (Germany), the Italian section of the Council of European Municipalities and Regions (AICCRE, Italy), the International Organisation for Public Transport (UITP, Belgium), Federmobilità (Italy), the Municipality of Rome (Italy), and the Clean Air Action Group (CAAG, Hungary).

For more details, please contact:
Karel Govaert at the EESC Press Office,
99 rue Belliard, B-1040 Brussels
Tel.: +32 2 546 9396/9586; Mobile: +32 475 75 32 02
Press Releases: (English) (French)
The European Economic and Social Committee represents the various economic and social components of organised civil society. It is an institutional consultative body established by the 1957 Treaty of Rome. Its consultative role enables its members, and hence the organisations they represent, to participate in the Community decision-making process. The Committee has 344 members, who are appointed by the Council of Ministers.

Side Bar