European Union website, the official EU website

European Environment Agency

European Environment Agency

What we do

We provide independent information on the environment, to feed into EU and national policymaking.
With a permanent staff of around 130 and an annual budget of €40m, we provide a wide range of information and assessments on:

  • the state of the environment
  • environmental trends, including assessments of economic and social factors putting pressure on the environment
  • policies and their effectiveness
  • possible future trends and problems.

Member countries

The EEA currently has 32 members - 28 EU countries plus Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway, Switzerland and Turkey.


  • Eionet – the European environment information and observation network (mostly national environment agencies and ministries with some 300 lower-level institutions).

The EEA is responsible for developing Eionet and coordinating its activities.

Legal basis for our work

EU regulation 401/2009 on EEA and Eionet

Executive Director

Contact details: 

European Environment Agency(EEA)

Contact details


Kongens Nytorv 6

DK-1050 København K


+45 33 36 71 00
+45 33 36 71 99