Nine historical sites selected for the European Heritage Label

The European Commission has decided to add nine sites celebrating and symbolising European ideals, values, history and integration to the European Heritage Label list.
European Heritage Label

The nine sites are Leipzig’s Musical Heritage Sites (Germany); the Dohány Street Synagogue Complex (Hungary); Fort Cadine (Italy); Javorca Church (Slovenia); the former Natzweiler concentration camp and its satellite camps (France and Germany); the Sighet Memorial (Romania); the Bois du Cazier (Belgium); the Village of Schengen (Luxembourg) and the Maastricht Treaty (The Netherlands).

The sites will be celebrated during an award ceremony taking place on the 26th of March in Plovdiv (Bulgaria), as part of the International conference "Cultural heritage: for a more sustainable Europe" co-organised by the Bulgarian Presidency and the European Commission.

Commissioner for Education, Culture, Youth and Sport Tibor Navracsics, said: "The European Union is built on the values of peace, freedom, tolerance and solidarity. These values must not be taken for granted; we have to work for them every day. All the sites on the European Heritage Label list promote these values and remind us of all those who fought to establish and preserve them. They allow us to understand the past and to build our future. I look forward being in Plovdiv to celebrate them as part of an event that is a milestone of the 2018 European Year of Cultural Heritage."

The European Commission took its decision based on the proposal of an independent selection panel in charge of assessing the applications on the basis of the established criteria. Twenty five heritage sites were preselected this year by 19 participating Member States. In total 38 sites hold the European Heritage Label.

For more information about the European Heritage Label, visit the Creative Europe website.