The Access City Award is open for applications

The EU Access City Award rewards European cities that have made outstanding efforts to become more accessible and act as an example for inclusion. The award celebrates EU cities' shared ambition to create an inclusive Europe in which all citizens can enjoy the freedom to live, work and spend their leisure time without barriers to their mobility or participation.
Blue and white banner for the Access City Award

New prize to celebrate the year

2018 is also the occasion for the Access City Award (ACA) to celebrate the European Year of Cultural Heritage. Therefore this year, in December, two cities that have done the most to guarantee accessibility to their cultural heritage will be rewarded, in addition to the traditional ACA three prizes.

This new prize for accessibility to cultural heritage has two categories: cities with under 50,000 inhabitants, and cities with larger population.

Listen to Marianne Thyssen, European Commissioner for Employment, Social Affairs, Skills and Mobility, who explains the importance of ensuring accessibility for all Europeans and the small changes cities can make to improve accessibility and fight the social exclusion of people with reduced mobility.


Want to find out how your city can participate in the awards?

Visit the Access City Award webpage

Look at the last Access City Award competition in this brochure, available in all EU languages.


Apply for the Access City Award

The deadline for applications is 16 September 2018, at the end of the day (00:00).