Skip to main content
NEWS on COVID-19 and CBRN risks

Developments on CBRN Risk Mitigation from our Partner Countries

Read more

EU CBRN Risk Mitigation Centres of Excellence

photos featuring various CBRN activities
Various CBRN related photos

The EU Chemical, Biological, Radiological and Nuclear (CBRN) Risk Mitigation Centres of Excellence (CoE) Initiative is funded and implemented by the European Union through the Neighbourhood, Development and International Cooperation Instrument (NDICI) – Global Europe.

The aim of the Initiative is to support Partner Countries and regions in strengthening CBRN risk mitigation and an all-hazards security governance, following a voluntary and demand-driven approach. Under the responsibility of CBRN National Focal Points and their inter-ministerial CBRN National Teams, EU support is provided to implement a wide range of CBRN risk mitigation activities including needs and risk assessments, national and regional action plans, training, Train the Trainer modules, table top and real time (including cross-border) field exercises, in all Partner Countries (62) and Regional Secretariats (8).

The Initiative is led by the European Commission’s Service for Foreign Policy Instruments (FPI), in close coordination with the European External Action Service (EEAS). The European Commission's Joint Research Centre (JRC) provides technical support to Partner Countries, while the United Nations Interregional Crime and Justice Research Institute (UNICRI) ensures a coherent and effective national, regional and international cooperation. Other relevant International and/or Regional Organisations and experts also contribute to the Initiative, which represents the EU’s largest civilian external security programme.

CBRN CoE Facts and Figures

62 Partner Countries
Facts and Figures
The CBRN CoE Initiative has 62 Partner Countries and 2 candidate countries to join the network within 2021.
8 Regions
Facts and Figures
The Partner Countries are organised into 8 Regions: African Atlantic Façade, Central Asia, Eastern and Central Africa, Gulf Cooperation Council Countries, Middle East, North Africa and Sahel, South East Asia and South East and Eastern Europe.
40 NAQs completed
Facts and Figures
The Needs Assessment Questionnaire (NAQ) is a tool which helps national teams identify and document areas requiring Chemical, Biological, Radiological and Nuclear (CBRN) Risk Mitigation. It is based on a voluntary request from any Partner Country.
34 NAPs completed
Facts and Figures
The National Action Plan (NAP) enables the Partner Countries to define their priority objectives in the field of CBRN Risk Mitigation. They can share them to build joint projects and formulate an integrated regional approach.
A new funding instrument
Facts and Figures
The Neighbourhood, Development and International Cooperation Instrument (NDICI) is the new financial tool funding the Centres of Excellence, contributing to promote sustainable development, prosperity, peace and stability.
88 funded projects
Facts and Figures
Within the CoE network, 88 CBRN projects have been implemented and 31 are ongoing.

Our Network

The CBRN CoE Network consists of 62 Partner Countries grouped around 8 Regions, each facilitated by a Regional Secretariat:

Regional graphic for the 8 regions within the CBRN CoE
Regional graphic for the 8 regions within the CBRN CoE

EU CBRN CoE Partner Countries:

African Atlantic Façade (AAF): Benin, Cameroon, Côte d’Ivoire, Gabon, Liberia, Mauritania, Morocco, Senegal, Sierra Leone, Togo.

Central Asia (CA): Afghanistan, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Mongolia, Pakistan, Tajikistan, Uzbekistan.

Eastern and Central Africa (ECA): Burundi, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Ethiopia, Ghana, Kenya, Malawi, Rwanda, Seychelles, Tanzania, Uganda, Zambia.

Gulf Cooperation Council Contries (GCC): Kingdom of Saudi Arabia, Kingdom of Bahrain, The State of Kuwait, The State of Qatar, United Arab Emirates.

Middle East (MIE): The Republic of Lebanon, The Republic of Iraq, The Hashemite Kingdom of Jordan.

North Africa and Sahel (NAS): Algeria, Burkina Faso, Libya, Mali, Morocco, Niger, Tunisia.

South East Asia (SEA): Brunei Darussalam, Cambodia, Indonesia, Lao PDR, Malaysia, Myanmar, Philippines, Singapore, Thailand, Viet Nam.

South East and Eastern Europe (SEEE): Albania, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Georgia, Moldova, Montenegro, North Macedonia, Serbia, Ukraine