Skip to main content
EU CBRN CoE fights against COVID-19

Our multiregional projects are co-operating to detect coronavirus

Read more 

EU Chemical, Biological, Radiological and Nuclear Risk Mitigation Centres of Excellence (CoE)

The European Union (EU) Chemical, Biological, Radiological and Nuclear (CBRN) Risk Mitigation Centres of Excellence (CoE) Initiative is funded and implemented by the European Union (EU) through the Instrument contributing to Stability and Peace (IcSP), the EU’s main international cooperation instrument supporting security initiatives and peace-building activities in Partner Countries.

The aim of the Initiative is to mitigate risks and strengthen an all-hazards security governance in Partner Countries of the EU following a voluntary and demand-driven approach. Under the responsibility of CBRN National Focal Points and their inter-ministerial CBRN National Teams, EU support is provided to implement a wide range of CBRN Risk Mitigation activities including needs and risk assessments, national and regional action plans, trainings, Train the Trainer modules, table top and real time (including cross-border) field exercises, in all Partner Countries (62) and Regional Secretariats (8).

The Initiative is led by the European Commission’s Directorate-General for International Cooperation and Development (DG DEVCO), in close coordination with the European External Action Service (EEAS). The European Commission Joint Research Centre (JRC) provides technical support to Partner Countries, while the United Nations Interregional Crime and Justice Research Institute (UNICRI) ensures a coherent and effective national, regional and international cooperation. Other relevant International and/or Regional Organisations and experts also contribute to the Initiative, which represents the EU’s largest civilian external security programme.

Various CBRN related photos


The CBRN CoE network consists of 62 Partner Countries grouped around 8 Regions, each facilitated by a Regional Secretariat:

Regional graphic for the 8 regions within the CBRN CoE


EU CBRN CoE Partner Countries:

AAF: Benin, Cameroon, Côte d’Ivoire, Gabon, Liberia, Mauritania, Morocco, Senegal, Sierra Leone, Togo.

CA: Afghanistan, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Mongolia, Pakistan, Tajikistan, Uzbekistan.

ECA: Burundi, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Ethiopia, Ghana, Kenya, Malawi, Rwanda, Seychelles, Tanzania, Uganda, Zambia.

GCC: Kingdom of Saudi Arabia, Kingdom of Bahrain, The State of Kuwait, The State of Qatar, United Arab Emirates.

MIE: The Republic of Lebanon, The Republic of Iraq, The Hashemite Kingdom of Jordan.

NAS: Algeria, Burkina Faso, Libya, Mali, Morocco, Niger, Tunisia.

SEA: Brunei Darussalam, Cambodia, Indonesia, Lao PDR, Malaysia, Myanmar, Philippines, Singapore, Thailand, Viet Nam.

SEEE: Albania, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Georgia, Moldova, Montenegro, North Macedonia, Serbia, Ukraine.