Group info

COP21, Paris: Signing Ceremony of Joint Declarations with Partner countries on Sustainable Energy, 07.12.2015

Page created by
Susanna Silversol16 December 2015


At the 'Africa in Motion' side event during COP21 in Paris, EU Commissioner for International Cooperation and Development, Neven Mimica, signed seven Joint Declarations to reinforce cooperation on sustainable energy and climate change. The countries concerned are Nigeria, Benin, Senegal, Kenya, Madagascar and Cameroon, as well as the Indian Ocean Commission. Commissioner Mimica said: "These declarations are a major milestone in the path to achieving universal access to energy through the development of renewable sources. They will bring us closer to our partners, reinforcing political dialogue and regional cooperation, which is essential in this task". With today's, a total of 20 Joint Declarations have been signed since the UN Climate Summit of September 2014.

All Joint Declarations on sustainable energy can be downloaded here.

Photos from the signing ceremony can be found here.

The signature of the Joint Declarations was featured on the EuropeAid website.

The event was also featured on the EuropeAid Twitter account:

Please consult our booklet 'Empowering Development'

Register or log in to comment