Latest activity

Error loading activity stream.
{{newActivities.length}} new post(s)
Join this group

About the group

MedMedia is an EU-funded project aimed at creating an enabling environment for media reforms in the Southern Mediterranean region. Implemented in the framework of the revised EU Neighbourhood Policy, it is part of the regional Programme Media and Culture for Development in the Southern Mediterranean 2014-2017 which also includes Aswatona and Ebticar media support projects.

MedMedia focuses on media legislation, regulation, programming, strategy and leadership with a view to helping state media fulfil their public service mandate and compete with the commercial sector. It will also work to build public trust by strengthening the media’s role as an independent watchdog and a forum for democratic debate.

The MedMedia project will work across nine of the ENP South countries: Morocco, Algeria, Tunisia, Libya, Egypt, Jordan, Lebanon, the Occupied Palestinian Territories and Israel. Launched in January 2014, this €5-million project will run for a total of 48 months.

Target groups
• Regulatory and statutory bodies
• Journalism unions and support organisations
• Public service and community media
• Policy-makers

Useful contacts:
Hristo Hristov, EC Task Manager
Email: Hristo-Ivanov.Hristov@ec.europa.eu

Michael Randall, Team Leader
Email: michael.randall@med-media.eu

Jocelyn Grange, Senior Peer-to-Peer Media Expert
Email: jocelyn.grange@med-media.eu

Sarah Bouchetob, Senior Networking and Communications Manager
Email: sarah.bouchetob@med-media.eu

Ellie Haworth, Head of Project for BBC Media Action
Email: ellie.haworth@bbc.co.uk

Maha Taki, Project Manager for BBC Media Action
Email: maha.taki@bbc.co.uk

Group created on
4 July 2014

Group owner

Sarah Bouchetob

Group Admin

Recent Members