Project/programme info

African Hub

Page created by
Capacity4dev Team2 March 2015

The African Hub is hosted by the AUC, which is the principal organization in Africa for the promotion of accelerated socio-economic integration of the continent in order to achieve sustainable development. The AUC is ideally adapted to support the mission of the African Hub since it is mandated to promote regional cooperation on environmental management and cooperation. The AUC also holds strong cooperation ties with UNEP and other regional environmental institutions in Africa. The African Hub will target the 48 African ACP countries. The target beneficiaries will primarily be Government officials. National stakeholders such as civil society organizations and private sector companies will also benefit from activities. One of the primary goals of the African Hub is to promote capacity-building, ownership, and exchanges of experiences on MEAs at both national and regional levels. Another major tenet of the African Hub is the greater engagement of the public and of decision-makers in the national implementation of MEAs. In order to address this crucial issue, participating African countries are expected to learn from institutional models which have been developed in other developing countries. The African Hub will facilitate this through the promotion of South-South cooperation. - See more at:


The overall objective of the African Hub is to strengthen and enhance the endogenous capacity of African ACP countries to effectively implement MEAs. This will lead to sound environment and natural resource management and contribute towards the effective implementation of strategies for sustainable development and poverty eradication in Africa. With the support of the African Hub, experiences at national, regional and sub-regional levels will be shared and South-South cooperation will be encouraged, including with the two other Regional Hubs in the Caribbean and the Pacific.

The specific objective of the African Hub is to strengthen the capacities of the Commission of the African Union and the Regional Economic Communities and to enhance the capacities of African ACP countries to effectively implement global and regional environmental agreements. This will be approached in a coordinated and comprehensive manner by focusing on national coordination mechanisms, mainstreaming environment enhance compliance and enforcement of MEAs and information dissemination and exchange.

The African Hub will work with the following partners• African Ministerial Conference on the Environment (AMCEN)• African Ministers’ Council on Water (AMCOW)• Comprehensive African Agricultural Development Programme (CAADP)• Communauté Economique des Etats de l'Afrique Centrale (CEEAC)• Communauté Economique et Monétaire de l'Afrique Centrale (CEMAC)• Common Market for Eastern and Southern Africa (COMESA)• Conference of Ministers of Agriculture of the African Union • East African Community (EAC)• Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS)• Intergovernmental Authority on Development (IGAD)• New Partnership for Africa’s Development (NEPAD)• Southern African Development Community (SADC)• l’Union Economique et Monétaire Ouest Africaine (UEMOA)• United Nations Economic Commission for Africa (UNECA)• UNEP Regional Office for Africa (UNEP/ROA)


Register or log in to comment