Legal notice | Print version | What's new? | Search | Contact | Index | Glossary | About the glossary
GLOSSARY Skip language selection bar (shortcut key=2)
EUROPA > Glossary
  NewsActivitiesInstitutionsThe EU at a glanceOfficial documentsInformation sources

About the glossary

The following glossary contains 233 terms relating to European integration and the institutions and activities of the EU. It is updated regularly and includes all the changes brought about by the Treaty of Nice as well as the latest draft reforms for the Treaties.

The glossary is being updated given the recent signing of the Treaty of Lisbon.

The definitions explain how the individual terms have evolved and provide references to the Treaties, if necessary. Historical background, how the institutions work, what the procedures are, what areas are covered by a Community policy - the answers to these questions and many others can be found by following these links.

The definitions are available in the eleven languages which were the official languages of the European Union before 1 May 2004 (Danish, Dutch, English, Finnish, French, German, Greek, Italian, Portuguese, Spanish and Swedish). The official languages of the new Member States (Bulgarian, Czech, Estonian, Hungarian, Latvian, Lithuanian, Maltese, Polish, Romanian, Slovenian and Slovak) will be added as and when resources allow. Read more on the language policy of Europa

It is possible to print out all the pages of the Glossary by selecting the "Full version" option, which is available at the top of each page.

The unofficial terminology used on a daily basis by the media and EU officials can be found on the page devoted to Eurojargon.
Legal notice | Print version | What's new? | Contact | Index | Glossary | About the glossary