Navigation path

Left navigation

Additional tools

Other available languages: none

European Commission


Brussels, 4 March 2014

Commissioner Barnier welcomes the conclusion of the first agreement on a regional division of the Unified Patent Court by Sweden, Lithuania, Latvia and Estonia

"I welcome today’s agreement by Sweden, Lithuania, Latvia and Estonia on the creation of a regional division of the Unified Patent Court (UPC). I am very pleased to see those countries taking the lead in setting up local and regional divisions of the Court. The creation of a regional division will allow resources to be pooled most effectively while providing the necessary proximity to the parties.

Today's announcement demonstrates the determination of the signatory states to make the Unified Patent Court and the unitary patent a success and a reality for our innovators and businesses as soon as possible.

I hope that others will soon follow this example. I take this opportunity to call on all Member States to ratify the UPC Agreement without further delay.”


On 19 February 2013 the Agreement on a Unified Patent Court was signed by 25 Member States. This Agreement is part of the patent reform package which also includes the creation of a unitary patent. The Agreement is now in the process of ratification by the signatories. It will enter into force with the 13th ratification, including the three Member States with the largest number of European patents valid in their territory in 2012. It is foreseen that the first instance of the Unified Patent Court will be composed of a central division as well as local and regional divisions. The central division will be located in Paris, with sections in London and Munich. Each contracting Member State may decide whether to create a local division (up to 4 per state) or to join other states in a regional division. Regional divisions would have a seat in one of the states creating the division, but would hear cases in multiple locations. Regional divisions will be able to work in any of the official languages of the relevant states and/or designate another procedural language, such as English.

More information:

Contacts :

Chantal Hughes (+32 2 296 44 50)

Audrey Augier (+32 2 297 16 07)

Carmel Dunne (+32 2 299 88 94)

For the public: Europe Direct by phone 00 800 6 7 8 9 10 11 or by e­mail

Side Bar