Navigation path

Left navigation

Additional tools



Brussels, 12 February 2013

6326/1/13 REV 1


Declaration by the High Representative, Catherine Ashton,

on behalf of the European Union

on the nuclear test by the DPRK

The EU condemns in the strongest possible terms the latest DPRK nuclear test earlier today – one more step in a long-running programme to develop a nuclear weapon capability – and urges the DPRK to refrain from further provocative actions.

This nuclear test is a further blatant challenge to the global non-proliferation regime and an outright violation of the DPRK’s international obligations not to produce or test nuclear weapons, in particular under UN Security Council Resolutions 1718, 1874 and 2087.

As such, it constitutes a serious threat to a lasting peace in the Korean Peninsula and to both regional and international security and stability in North-East Asia. UNSC Resolution 2087 adopted unanimously last month further clarifies the international community’s determination to take significant action in the event of a nuclear test, which would lead the DPRK towards further isolation. The EU remains seized of the matter and will work with key partners and the wider international community to build a firm and unified response aiming at demonstrating to the DPRK that there are consequences for its continued violations of UNSC Resolutions. We once again urge the DPRK to abandon its nuclear weapons programme, including its uranium enrichment programme, in a complete, verifiable and irreversible manner.

The EU strongly urges the DPRK to engage in a dialogue with the international community, including in the framework of the Six-Party Talks which would be conducive to regional stability.”

The Acceding Country Croatia*, the Candidate Countries Turkey, the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia*, Montenegro*, Iceland+ and Serbia*, the Country of the Stabilisation and Association Process and potential candidate Albania, and the EFTA countries Liechtenstein and Norway, members of the European Economic Area, as well as Ukraine, the Republic of Moldova, Armenia and Georgia, align themselves with this declaration.

* Croatia, the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Montenegro and Serbia continue to be part of the Stabilisation and Association Process.

+ Iceland continues to be a member of the EFTA and of the European Economic Area.

Side Bar