Navigation path

Left navigation

Additional tools



Brussels, 9 March 2013

7353/1/13 REV 1


Declaration by the High Representative, Catherine Ashton, on behalf of the European Union on the elections in Kenya

The European Union congratulates the people of Kenya for the largely peaceful elections.

Kenyans have shown a strong commitment to electoral democracy by turning out in high numbers and peacefully exercising their democratic rights. The EU congratulates all those who have been elected successfully and commends those who have conceded defeat and appealed for peace.

The EU is confident that any disputes will be dealt with by the Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission and the established judicial mechanisms swiftly and fairly. The EU appeals to all parties to maintain the peaceful and democratic spirit until these processes are completed.

With these elections a major step is being taken to the realisation of the promise of the new Constitution and in showing that there is no place for violence in the new Kenya. It is particularly important that the rule of law should prevail. The EU stands ready to continue to support the government and people of Kenya in putting this promise into practice as well as to further implement the new constitution.

The Acceding Country Croatia*, the Candidate Countries Turkey, the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia*, Montenegro* and Iceland+, the Countries of the Stabilisation and Association Process and potential candidates Albania and Bosnia and Herzegovina, and the EFTA country Norway, member of the European Economic Area, as well as Ukraine, the Republic of Moldova, Armenia, Azerbaijan and Georgia, align themselves with this declaration.

* Croatia, the Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia and Montenegro continue to be part of the Stabilisation and Association Process.

+ Iceland continues to be a member of the EFTA and of the European Economic Area.

Side Bar