Navigation path

Left navigation

Additional tools



Brussels, 24 September 2012

14095/1/12 REV 1


Declaration by High Representative Catherine Ashton on behalf of the European Union on the final results of the elections in Angola

The European Union acknowledges the confirmation by the Constitutional Court of the final results of the general elections held in Angola on 31 August 2012.

The European Union congratulates the Angolan people for their calm and peaceful participation and the political parties and civil society for their continued commitment to peace. These elections represent an important step towards strengthening democracy in Angola, a decade after peace was achieved.

The EU recognises the substantial effort that was invested in this election by the Angolan electoral authorities. The European Union commends the well organised voting process, which bears witness to the commitment of all Angolans to these elections.

Upon invitation by the Angolan authorities, the European Union sent an Election Expert Mission. The European Union took note of the fact that the election was considered by international observers present to be overall successful, as well as of criticism voiced by some political parties and civil society organisations in relation to a number of aspects of the electoral process.

The EU noted some shortcomings within the election process. In the interest of increasing confidence in the electoral process, the European Union stands ready to support the competent Angolan authorities to ensure that these concerns are effectively addressed in future elections.

The Acceding Country Croatia*, the Candidate Countries Turkey, the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia*, Montenegro* and Serbia*, the Countries of the Stabilisation and Association Process and potential candidates Albania and Bosnia and Herzegovina, and the EFTA countries Liechtenstein and Norway, members of the European Economic Area, as well as Ukraine, the Republic of Moldova and Armenia align themselves with this declaration.

* Croatia, the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Montenegro and Serbia continue to be part of the Stabilisation and Association Process.

+ Iceland continues to be a member of the EFTA and of the European Economic Area.

Side Bar