Chemin de navigation

Left navigation

Additional tools



Brussels, 8 June 2012



Declaration by the High Representative on behalf of the European Union on the alignment of certain third countries with Council Decision 2012/225/CFSP amending Decision 2010/232/CFSP concerning restrictive measures against Burma/Myanmar

On 26 April 2012, the Council adopted Council Decision 2012/225/CFSP1. The Council Decision extends the restrictive measures as set out in Decision 2010/232/CFSP until 30 April 2013, and suspends the measures in Articles 3 to 13a of Decision 2010/232/CFSP. This Decision therefore suspends all restrictive measures against Burma/Myanmar, with the exception of the arms embargo and the embargo on equipment which may be used for international repression, which are retained. It also removes certain persons from the list of persons in part J of Annex II to Decision 2010/232/CFSP subject to a visa ban and an asset freeze.

The Acceding Country Croatia*, the Candidate Countries the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia*, Montenegro*, Icelandand Serbia*, the Country of the Stabilisation and Association Process and potential candidate Albania and the EFTA country Liechtenstein, member of the European Economic Area, as well as the Republic of Moldova, Armenia, and Georgia, align themselves with this decision.

They will ensure that their national policies conform to this Council Decision.

The European Union takes note of this commitment and welcomes it.

1 :

Published on 27.4.2012 in the Official Journal of the European Union no. L 115, p. 25.

* Croatia, the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Montenegro and Serbia continue to be part of the Stabilisation and Association Process.

+ Iceland continues to be a member of the EFTA and of the European Economic Area

Side Bar