Navigation path

Left navigation

Additional tools



Brussels, 8 June 2012



Declaration by the High Representative on behalf of the European Union on the alignment of certain third countries with Council Decision 2012/168/CFSP amending Decision 2011/235/CFSP concerning restrictive measures directed against certain persons and entities in view of the situation in Iran

On 23 March 2012, the Council adopted Council Decision 2012/168/CFSP.1 The Council Decision amends the restrictive measures as set out in Decision 2011/235/CFSP and includes additional persons in the list of persons and entities subject to restrictive measures as set out in the Annex to that Decision.

The amendments concern the inclusion of a prohibition on the sale, supply, transfer or export of equipment or software intended primarily for use in the monitoring or interception by the Iranian regime of the Internet and of telephone communications on mobile or fixed networks in Iran. It also includes, in consideration of its objectives, the prohibition on the supply, sale or transfer of equipment which might be used for internal repression in Decision 2011/235/CFSP, where at the same time it is removed from Decision 2010/413/CFSP.

The Acceding Country Croatia*, the Candidate Countries the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia*, Montenegro*, and Serbia*, the Country of the Stabilisation and Association Process and potential candidate Albania and the EFTA countries Liechtenstein and Norway, members of the European Economic Area, as well as the Republic of Moldova, align themselves with this decision.

They will ensure that their national policies conform to this Council Decision.

The European Union takes note of this commitment and welcomes it.

1 :

Published on 24.3.2012 in the Official Journal of the European Union no. L 87, p. 85.

* Croatia, the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Montenegro and Serbia continue to be part of the Stabilisation and Association Process.

Side Bar