Navigation path

Left navigation

Additional tools



Brussels, 7 June 2012

11040/1/12 REV 1


Declaration by the High Representative, Catherine Ashton, on behalf of the European Union on the situation in eastern Congo

“The EU is strongly concerned by recent developments in the Kivus and the deterioration of the security situation. The EU and its Member Sates have a long standing engagement in supporting stability and security of the Kivus and in the region. The EU considers that establishing DRC’s effective authority over its territory is in the interest of all. The EU firmly supports the DRC ongoing efforts to end the parallel chains of command within the FARDC.

The EU strongly condemns the rebellion by some elements within the Congolese army. The EU also condemns the killing of, and all negative impacts on civilians by armed groups, including the FDLR since the mutiny began. The EU recalls its firm commitment to fighting impunity and the need to bring perpetrators of crime to justice.

The current developments require the attention of all countries in the region. Recent cooperation between Rwanda and the DRC on this matter is necessary and positive. The EU is worried by information that this dynamic might be endangered. It therefore encourages all stakeholders to continue this cooperation, and to take appropriate measures to ensure transparency so that alleged incidents can be investigated and dialogue maintained.

The EU will closely monitor developments in the field.”

The Acceding Country Croatia*, the Candidate Countries Turkey, the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia*, Montenegro*, Icelandand Serbia*, the Countries of the Stabilisation and Association Process and potential candidates Albania and Bosnia and Herzegovina, and the EFTA countries Liechtenstein and Norway, members of the European Economic Area, as well as Ukraine, the Republic of Moldova and Armenia align themselves with this declaration.

* Croatia, the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Montenegro and Serbia continue to be part of the Stabilisation and Association Process.

+ Iceland continues to be a member of the EFTA and of the European Economic Area.

Side Bar