Navigation path

Left navigation

Additional tools

Other available languages: FR PT

European Commission


Brussels, 19 June 2014

Signing of National Indicative Programmes with 16 ACP countries

Today and tomorrow, European Commissioner for Development, Andris Piebalgs, and Ministers from 16 ACP (African, Caribbean and Pacific) countries will co-sign the first National Indicative Programmes under the 11th European Development Fund for the period 2014-2020 in Nairobi (Kenya).

The signing ceremony will take place in the margins of the meeting of the Joint Council of Ministers of the African, Caribbean and Pacific countries and the EU, in Nairobi. The list of signatory countries includes Botswana, Côte d'Ivoire, Djibouti, Ethiopia, Gabon, Ghana, Kenya, Mauritania, Niger, Sao Tome e Principe, Sierra Leone, Somalia, Swaziland, Tanzania and Surinam (the latter being the only non-African signatory country). Nigeria is expected to sign tomorrow.

What is a National Indicative Programme?

The National Indicative Programmes (NIPs) represent an important step in the programming of EU aid under the European Development Fund (EDF). EU Member States agreed in 2013 the overall amount for development cooperation that will be channeled to 78 African, Caribbean and Pacific countries under the so-called 11th EDF during the next financing period 2014-2020 (total amount €29.1 billion).

In parallel, the preparations of a NIP for each of these countries started, defining the strategy and priorities for EU aid. These preparations are done in close cooperation with the partner countries so as to ensure that NIPs support national priorities where the EU has a value added.

For the first time, NIPs are based on governments’ own policies and strategies reflecting their analysis of needs. They are in line with the EU’s vision for future development cooperation, the “Agenda for Change”, which calls for resources to be targeted where they are most needed and can be the most effective. EU funding will focus on a maximum of three sectors per country (possibly four in the case of fragile countries) to achieve maximum impact and value for money of EU cooperation.

What are the next steps?

It is foreseen that by early 2015, the remaining NIPs will be finalised and signed. In parallel, work on designing projects and programmes has also started in all countries

Statement by Commissioner Piebalgs following the signing of the National Indicative Programmes with 16 ACP countries: STMT/14/199

Table: National Indicative Programmes signed on 19 June 2014


Bilateral EU funding under the 11th EDF

Focal sectors


EUR 33 million

Education; Public sector reform; measures in favour of civil society


EUR 105 million

Water and sanitation; food & nutrition security


EUR 745 million

Health; sustainable agriculture and food & nutrition security; infrastructure and energy


EUR 13 million



EUR 323 million

Employment and social protection; governance; sustainable agriculture

Côte d'Ivoire

EUR 273 million

Governance and peace building; agriculture; energy


EUR 435 million

Food Security and Resilience to climate shocks; Sustainable Infrastructure ; accountability of public institutions


EUR 195 million

Rule of law; health; sustainable agriculture and food security


EUR 596 million

Social policies; Security and governance; food security; infrastructure


EUR 512 million

Governance; health and nutrition; sustainable energy

Sao Tome e Principe

EUR 28 million

Water and sanitation; sustainable agriculture

Sierra Leone

EUR 376 million

State building; education; sustainable agriculture; infrastructure


EUR 286 million

State building; education; food security


EUR 62 million

Social protection; sustainable agriculture and food security


EUR 626 million

Good governance and development; sustainable agriculture; energy


EUR 13.8 million

Sustainable agriculture

Side Bar