Chemin de navigation

Left navigation

Additional tools

Autres langues disponibles: aucune

European Commission


Brussels, 25 November 2013

Taxing the Digital Economy: The Commission has appointed the members of the expert group

The Commission has appointed the members of the High Level expert group on Taxation of the Digital Economy it has created last month IP/13/983.

The group will be chaired by Vítor Gaspar, former finance minister of Portugal, and will bring together six further experts from across Europe with different backgrounds and expertise relevant to the subject.

  • Mr Pierre Collin from the French Conseil d'Etat

  • Mr Michael Devereux from Oxford University Centre for Business Taxation,

  • Mr Jim Hagemann Snabe, Co-CEO of SAP AG

  • Ms Tea Varrak from Innovation and Business Centre Mektory in Estonia

  • Ms Mary Walsh, Non-executive director and Consultant in Ireland

  • Mr Björn Westberg from Jönköping International Business School in Sweden

The task of this group will be to identify improvements in the current way of taxing the digital economy in the EU, weighing up both the benefits and risks of various approaches. Its focus will be on identifying the key problems with taxing the digital economy from an EU perspective, and presenting a range of possible solutions. The Commission will then develop any necessary EU initiatives to improve the tax framework for the digital sector in Europe, which has the potential to contribute significantly to growth and innovation in the EU.

The first meeting of the group is planned to take place on 12 December 2013. The group should report back report back to the Commission in the first half of 2014.

Members of the group were appointed in full transparency following a public Call for Applications and in accordance with the rules on expert groups agreed with the European Parliament.

Useful Links

Decision to set up an expert group:

Homepage of Commissioner Algirdas Šemeta, EU Taxation and Customs Union, Audit and Anti-fraud Commissioner:

Follow Commissioner Algirdas Šemeta on Twitter

Side Bar