Navigation path

Left navigation

Additional tools

Other available languages: FR

European Commission


Brussels, 9 October 2012

Nobel Prize in Physics goes to European Research Council grantee

The Nobel Prize in Physics for 2012 has been awarded to Professors Serge Haroche (France) and David J. Wineland (United States) for "ground-breaking experimental methods that enable measuring and manipulation of individual quantum systems". Professor Haroche is the recipient of a prestigious European Research Council Advanced Grant in 2009. 

Commissioner for Research, Innovation and Science Máire Geoghegan-Quinn said: "I heartily congratulate Professors Serge Haroche and David J. Wineland for their well-deserved Nobel Prize. I am particularly proud that Professor Haroche is the holder of an Advanced Grant, awarded in 2009 by the European Research Council (ERC).  The ERC supports the very best researchers to conduct pioneering research across Europe, and has made a real impact since its launch in 2007.  This is why the Commission has proposed a significant boost for the ERC budget in our next research and innovation programme, Horizon 2020."

In addition to his ERC Advanced Grant, Professor Haroche has coordinated and participated in a number of collaborative projects funded by the European Union's Research Framework Programmes. The European Commission has proposed a significant boost of the ERC budget to over €13 billion in the new framework programme Horizon 2020 (2014-2020). The current ERC budget is €7.5 billion from 2007 to 2013, funded under the EU's Seventh Research Framework Programme.

Side Bar