Chemin de navigation

Left navigation

Additional tools

Autres langues disponibles: FR DE


Brussels, 19th November 2007

Launch of High Level Expert Group on Administrative Burdens chaired by Mr Stoiber

Commission President José Manuel Durão Barroso, Vice President Günter Verheugen and Mr. Edmund Stoiber agreed on the composition of the High Level Expert Group on the Reduction of Administrative Burdens in Brussels today and launched the work of the group. Mr Stoiber will chair the High Level Group of 15 experts (see list of members in the annex). The Group has a three-year mandate (IP/07/1339). Its task is to advise the Commission on the implementation of the action plan on reducing administrative burden imposed by legislation in the Union. The ambitious programme presented by the European Commission last January and endorsed by the European Council of March 2007 aims to cut by 25% the administrative burdens of businesses in the EU by 2012 (IP 07/77)

The work of the High Level Group follows up on a measurement exercise carried out by a consortium composed of Cap Gemini, Deloitte and Ramboll Management within the 13 priority areas defined by the Action Programme (IP/07/1373). This measurement exercise, based on the European Standard Cost Model, will identify the existing administrative burdens in these areas and can be described as technical preparatory work.

The High Level Group will then base its own work on the outcome of this purely technical measurement work. Building on the professional experience of its members, it will discuss this outcome and draw operational conclusions and issue recommendations to the Commission on what should follow in terms of modification of existing Community legislation.

Based on the Group's proposals the Commission will then take its decisions.

Currently, the consortium is mapping obligations that EU legislation currently puts on business to provide information. The consultants will also examine how these EU requirements have been transposed into national legislation in order to identify “gold plating” (i.e. when Member States have decided to go beyond what is required by the EU). The Commission will publish these results at the end of next year.

The Members of the Group have first hand experience in Better Regulation and cover the 13 policy areas in which administrative costs are being measured. The group includes the leaders of several bodies charged with fighting red tape at member state level, representatives from the industry, small and medium sized enterprises (SMEs), trade unions as well as environmental and consumer organisations.

More information (including mandate of the High-Level Group of 31 August 2007)

Annex: List of members

The Commission had invited representative organisations to nominate candidates which they have done so in the meantime. Based on these nominations, the Commission appoints the members of the group. Mr Stoiber is fully involved in this process.



Nominated by

Chair of the High-Level Group
Former Minister-President of Bavaria
European Commission

Head of Roland Berger Management Consultancy
Mr. Stoiber

CARVALHO GOUCHA Gabriel Côrte-Real de
General Counsel of the Mirpuri Investments Group, Vice President for Institutional and International Relations of PME Portugal (an Association of SMEs). Representative of PME Portugal in the Commission for “Desformalização” of the Ministry of Justice
European Small Business Alliance (ESBA)
Specialist in the areas of taxes and corporate law and coordinator of Better Regulations at Företagarna
European Association of Craft, Small and Medium-sized Enterprises (UEAPME)
Chairman of the UK Better Regulation Commission
Mr. Stoiber
Secretary General of the European Environmental Bureau (EEB)
European Environmental Bureau (EEB) via Friends of the Earth - Europe
Chairman of the Dutch Advisory Board on Administrative Burdens (Actal) since May 2000.
Mr. Stoiber
LUDEWIG Johannes
Executive Director Community of European Railway and Infrastructure Companies (CER). Chairman of the German National Regulatory Control Council
MENDEZ Candido
General Secretary of the UGT-E (Unión General de Trabajadores- Espana) and former President of ETUC.
European Trade Union Confederation (ETUC)
Director of BEUC, the European Consumers Organisation (Brussels). Previously Director of the Office of Consumer Affairs and Fair Trade in Ireland.
Bureau Européen des Unions de Consommateurs (BEUC)
Vice President of IRU (International Road Transports Union).
President and Vice President of various Transports Federations.
International Road Transport Union (IRU)
PESONEN Pekka Juhana
State Secretary - Finnish Ministry of Agriculture and Forestry. Secretary General of COPA and COGECA. Formerly dairy and livestock advisor in Brussels; employee with by Valio Ltd, Finnish dairy company. M.Sc.Agric.) at Helsinki University
Committee of Professional Agricultural Organisations in the European Union (Copa) - General Confederation of Agricultural Co-operatives in the European Union (Cogeca)
Certified public accountant and auditor / Chairman of Jacques Potdevin & Associés (JPA Paris), CEO of JPA International and JPA Consulting International. Senior lecturer to the French Business School HEC (Hautes Etudes Commerciales).
European Federation of Accountants (FEE)
Senior Advisor at European Policy Centre (EPC). Former European Commissioner co-responsible for the portfolio of Health and consumer protection with Commissioner David Byrne (in 2004)
European Policy Centre (EPC)
ILLY Riccardo
President of the Region Friuli-Venezia-Giulia and President of the Assembly of European Regions
European Commission in agreement with Mr. Stoiber

Side Bar