Navigation path

Left navigation

Additional tools

Other available languages: FR

    The Commission held its 1000th meeting on 21 February 1990.  To mark this
    event and to celebrate the 40th anniversary of Robert Schuman's
    declaration, the Commission would like to highlight the important role of
    young people in the future of the Community.
    To encourage commitment among the young, the Commission has decided to
    invite 1000 primary and secondary schools in the twelve Community
    countries to submit projects illustrating why they are in favour of
    European integration;  it is offering a price of 1000 ECU to the winning
    school in each of the Member States.
    The Commission also marked the occasion by receiving the artist
    Jean-Michel Folon, who presented an original watercolour on Europe;  this
    will be used to help project the Community image in information campaigns
    between now and 1992.
    The first meeting of the European Commission took place on Thursday
    6 July 1967.  The Commission is the decision-making executive arm of the
    Community and has existed in its present form since 1 July 1967, the date
    on which the Treaty merging the institutions of the three Communities,
    the ECSC (founded in 1951), and the EEC and Euratom (both founded in
    1967), signed in Brussels on 8 April 1965 entered into force after
    ratification by the six founder Member States.
    Up until then, each of the Communities had its own Council and its own
    executive (the High Authority in the case of the ECSC and two separate
    Commissions in the case of the EEC and Euratom), and each institution had
    a separate administration.
    The Merger Treaty of 1965 established a single Council and a single
    Commission but left the scope of the three Community Treaties unchanged.
    Since then the Commission has exercised different powers according to the
    legal framework it is operationg in, since the three Communities, albeit
    now under the same umbrella, retain their distinctive personality.
    The first meeting of the Commission, chaired by its President, Jean Rey,
    was mainly concerned with the difficult task of reorganizing what was
    still a young institution.

Side Bar