Navigation path

Left navigation

Additional tools

High Level Group on Own Resources

Press release

Brussels, 3 April 2014

High-level Group at work on future financing of the EU

The high level group on own resources holds its first meeting in Brussels today under the chairmanship of Mario Monti, former Italian Prime Minister and European Commissioner.

The creation of the high-level group was announced on 25 February 2014 in Strasbourg by the President of the European Parliament Martin Schulz, the President of the Council Antonis Samaras and the President of the Commission José Manuel Barroso. On that occasion they welcomed Mario Monti as chairman of the Group jointly appointed by the three institutions.

This interinstitutional group, the creation of which was agreed during the negotiations on the Multiannual Financial Framework 2014-2020, will undertake a general review of the own resources system. It will give a first assessment by the end of 2014. National parliaments will have the opportunity to discuss the outcome of the work at an inter-parliamentary conference in 2016. On the basis of the results of this work, the Commission will assess, in parallel to the review and revision process of the MFF 2014-2020, whether to propose reforms to the current system of own resources for the next financial period (post 2020).

Mario Monti said: "I am honoured to chair this group composed of eminent personalities, of great competence and political experience. By launching this initiative, the European Parliament, the Council and the Commission have showed awareness that the current way of financing the EU budget needs thorough reconsideration. Although the topic has been the subject of several excellent reports in the past, no significant progress has been achieved so far at the political level. I am confident that, building on this unprecedented joint initiative of the three institutions, our group will provide well-founded options for future decisions with a view to a simpler, more transparent, equitable and democratically accountable system".

Composition of the Group


Mario Monti, President of Bocconi University, former Prime Minister of Italy and European Commissioner


a) appointed by the European Parliament:

  1. Mr Ivailo Kalfin (S&D),

  2. Mr Alain Lamassoure (EPP),

  3. Mr. Guy Verhofstadt (ALDE);

b) appointed by the Council:

  1. Mr Daniel Dăianu, former Member of the European Parliament and Finance Minister of Romania,

  2. Prof. Clemens Fuest, President of the Centre for European Economic Research ZEW in Germany,

  3. Ms Ingrida Šimonytė, former Minister of Finance of Lithuania;

c) appointed by the Commission:

  1. Mr Janusz Lewandowski, European Commissioner for financial programming and budget,

  • -Mr Maroš Šefčovič, European Commission Vice-President for Interinstitutional relations and administration,

  • Mr Algirdas Šemeta European Commissioner for taxation, customs, statistics, audit and anti-fraud.

For more information:

Read the MEMO on the HLG on OR

Visit the website on the Multiannual Financial Framework 2014-20

Contacts :

Patrizio Fiorilli (+32 2 295 81 32) – (mobile +32 498 958 132)

Wojtek Talko (+32 2 297 85 51) – (mobile +32 498 978 551)

For the public: Europe Direct by phone 00 800 6 7 8 9 10 11 or by e­mail

Side Bar