Navigation path

Left navigation

Additional tools

EU takes to road to help researchers find jobs and advice

European Commission - IP/14/206   03/03/2014

Other available languages: FR DE DA NL IT SV EL CS HU PL SK SL BG RO

European Commission

Press release

Brussels, 3 March 2014

EU takes to road to help researchers find jobs and advice

The European Commission today launches a pan-European information campaign to help researchers find career advice and work through the EURAXESS gateway. The “EURAXESS – Researchers in Motion” roadshow will visit 29 European cities in 22 countries (MEMO/14/145) to offer researchers and those interested in scientific careers advice on jobs, CV building and employment rights. The two month campaign, with a strong social media presence, is expected to reach out to around 100,000 students and young researchers.

Unveiling the campaign bus in Brussels, European Commissioner for Research, Innovation and Science Máire Geoghegan-Quinn said: "EURAXESS has become the go-to place for researchers seeking jobs in Europe. From finding work to funding opportunities, EURAXESS offers researchers concrete information and advice. With more than 40,000 advertised jobs per year and more than one million mobility-related queries tackled within the last four years, EURAXESS is an essential resource at a time unemployment is our greatest economic challenge."

EURAXESS is supported by 40 participating countries across Europe. Through its portal it provides a single access point to information across countries and personalised assistance by more than 530 staff working in over 260 Service Centres.

In 2013, there were nearly 950,000 unique visitors to the EURAXESS website, three times more than in 2010, and nearly 9.6 million page views. More than 7,700 research organisations (companies, universities and SMEs, etc.) are currently registered on EURAXESS Jobs. The aim of the tour is to encourage even wider participation.

Background

The tour has been organised in close collaboration with national EURAXESS centres in each country being visited. There will be interactive sessions, such as workshops with experts, discussion sessions and science slams, at each stop. There will also be sessions on careers that will take place in cooperation with university human resources departments.

For further information

EURAXESS: www.euraxess.org

EURAXESS On Tour: www.facebook.com/EURAXESS.OnTour

European Research Area (ERA): http://ec.europa.eu/research/era/index_en.htm

Contacts :

Michael Jennings (+32 2 296 33 88)

Inmaculada Martinez Garcia (+32 2 298 73 03)

For the public: Europe Direct by phone 00 800 6 7 8 9 10 11 or by e­mail

Tour dates

Tuesday, 4th March Brussels/BE Vrije Universiteit Brussel

Wednesday, 5th March London/UK Queen Mary University London

Tuesday, 11th March Copenhagen/DK University of Copenhagen

Wednesday, 12th March Lund/SE Lund University

Friday, 14th March Poznan/PL Adam Mickiewicz University

Monday, 17th March Warsaw/PL University of Warsaw

Tuesday, 18th March Wroclaw/PL Wroclaw University of Technology

Wednesday, 19th March Prague /CZ National Library of Technology

Thursday, 20th March Vienna/AT University of Vienna

Friday, 21st March Bratislava/SK Comenius-University

Monday, 24th March Budapest/HU Corvinus University of Budapest

Wednesday, 26th March Bucharest/RO University of Bucharest

Thursday, 27th March Plovdiv/BG University "Paisii Hilendarski“

Friday, 28th March Sofia/BG University St. Kl. Ohridski

Monday, 31st March Thessaloniki/GR Aristoteles-University

Tuesday, 1st April Niš/SR University Niš

Wednesday, 2nd April Banja Luka/BIH University Banja Luka
Thursday, 3rd April Zagreb/HR University Zagreb

Friday, 4th April Ljubljana/SL University Ljubljana

Monday, 7th April Trieste/IT AREA Science Park

Tuesday, 8th April Milan/IT University of Milan

Wednesday, 9th April Zurich/CH ETH Zurich/University of Zurich

Thursday, 10th April Strasbourg/FR Université de Strasbourg

Tuesday 15th April Maastricht/NL University of Maastricht

EASTER HOLIDAYS

Tuesday 22nd April Luxembourg/LU University of Luxembourg

Wednesday, 23rd April Bremen/DE University of Bremen

Thursday, 24th April Hamburg/DE Deutsches Elektronen Synchrotron

Monday, 28th April Cologne/DE University of Cologne

Tuesday, 29th April Liège/BE Université de Liège

Wednesday, 30th April Brussels/BE Closing event Université libre de Bruxelles


Side Bar

My account

Manage your searches and email notifications


Help us improve our website