Navigation path

Left navigation

Additional tools

Other available languages: FR DE

European Commission

Press release

Brussels, 4 April 2013

HRVP Catherine Ashton appoints new Heads of EU Delegations to Moldova, Nepal and Venezuela

Catherine Ashton, High Representative of the European Union for Foreign Affairs and Security Policy/Vice President of the Commission, announced today the appointment of three new Heads of EU Delegations. The new appointments, part of the 2013 rotation exercise within the European External Action Service (EEAS), are as follows:

Pirkka Tapiola has been appointed Head of the EU Delegation to Moldova. He is currently an advisor in the EEAS on developments in Eastern Europe and Central Asia and has also worked as senior advisor at the Council of the EU; before that he was a Finnish diplomat with postings in Ukraine and Thailand.

Rensje Teerink has been appointed Head of the EU Delegation to Nepal. She is an Asia specialist with more than 25 years of experience, currently working in the EEAS; previously she was also working for the Commission. Prior to joining the Commission she was a lecturer in her native Netherlands as well as researcher in Asia.

Aude Maio-Coliche has been appointed Head of the EU Delegation to Venezuela. Now working at the EEAS headquarters, she has already been posted at the EU Delegation in Caracas and has gained extensive experience with various Latin America issues while in the European Commission.

Catherine Ashton said: "I am delighted to announce the appointment of these excellent candidates to head up three challenging EU Delegations abroad. Their talent and expertise are significant assets for the EU's external action and I look forward to working with them in their new roles".

NBTo complete appointments, an accreditation request for a new Head of Delegation is sent to the host country. The selected candidate may take up duty only once accreditation of the host country has been granted and a number of administrative formalities have been completed.

For more information:

Contacts :

Sebastien Brabant (+32 2 298 64 33)

Maja Kocijancic (+32 2 298 65 70)

Michael Mann (+32 2 299 97 80)

Side Bar