Navigation path

Left navigation

Additional tools

Other available languages: FR DE IT EL

European Commission

Press release

Brussels, 15 November 2013

Six Italian cities (Cagliari, Lecce, Matera, Perugia, Ravenna and Siena) short-listed for European Capital of Culture 2019

The selection panel appointed to evaluate applications from Italian cities for the title of European Capital of Culture 2019 met in Rome today and recommended that Cagliari, Lecce, Matera, Perugia, Ravenna and Siena should be short-listed. Once this recommendation has been confirmed by Italy, the preselected cities will complete their applications by next summer. The selection panel will meet again in the third quarter of 2014 to recommend the Italian city which will be the European Capital of Culture in 2019.

Androulla Vassiliou, European Commissioner for Education, Culture, Multilingualism and Youth, said: "I would like to warmly congratulate the cities for their nominations, following the first round of the competition. More than 20 cities – a record number - applied for the title. This is proof of the popularity of the European Capital of Culture. Just being short-listed for the title can result in significant cultural, economic and social benefits for the cities concerned, provided that their bid is part of a longer-term culture-led development strategy. The Capitals are an opportunity for Europeans to learn more about each other and to enjoy their shared history and values: in other words, to experience the feeling of belonging to the same European community. I encourage all of the pre-selected cities to make the best of this project."

In accordance with the Decision of the European Parliament and Council of Ministers which sets the criteria for the European Capital of Culture1, Italy and Bulgaria are the two Member States hosting the event in 2019. The pre-selection in Bulgaria will take place next month.

Following Marseille (France) and Košice (Slovakia) this year, Umeå (Sweden) and Riga (Latvia) will be European Capitals of Culture in 2014, Mons (Belgium) and Plzen (Czech Republic) in 2015, Wrocław (Poland) and Donastia-San Sebastián (Spain) in 2016, Aarhus (Denmark) and Paphos (Cyprus) in 2017 and Valletta (Malta) in 2018. Leeuwarden (Netherlands) has also been proposed as European Capital of Culture in 2018.


Italy invited applications from interested cities at the end of 2012. More than 20 cities applied: Aosta, Bergamo, Cagliari, Caserta, Vallo di Diano and Cilento with Campania and Mezzogiorno, Erice, Grosseto and Maremma, L’Aquila, Lecce, Mantova, Matera, Palermo, Perugia with the sites of Francesco d’Assisi and Umbria, Pisa, Ravenna, Reggio Calabria, Siena, Siracusa and the South East, Taranto, Urbino and Venezia with the North East.

The applications were examined by a panel composed of 13 independent cultural experts - six appointed by Italy and the remaining seven by the European institutions.

The members of the panel appointed by the European institutions currently are:

  • Appointed by the European Commission: Sir Jeremy Isaacs (United Kingdom) a television executive and a former Director of the Royal Opera House, Covent Garden; Manfred Gaulhofer (Austria), Director-General of Graz 2003.

  • Appointed by the Council: Anu Kivilo (Estonia), Managing Director of the International Arvo Pärt Centre; Norbert Riedl (Austria), Head of Department for bi-and-multilateral cultural affairs at the Austrian Federal Ministry for Education, the Arts and Culture.

  • Appointed by the European Parliament: Jordi Pardo (Spain), responsible for cultural projects in the field of international culture; Steve Green (United Kingdom), consultant and researcher in cultural policy.

  • Appointed by the Committee of the Regions: Elisabeth Vitouch (Austria), who represents the Commission for Culture and Education of the Committee of the Regions and is a member of the Vienna City government.

According to the current system for designating the European Capitals of Culture, the selection includes two rounds: a pre-selection round, following which a shortlist of candidate cities is drawn up, and a final selection round nine months later. The selected cities are then officially designated by the Council of Ministers of the EU.

For more information actions/capitals/european-capitals-of-culture_en.htm

European Commission: Culture

Androulla Vassiliou's website

Follow Androulla Vassiliou on Twitter @VassiliouEU

Contacts :

Dennis Abbott (+32 2 295 92 58) - Twitter: @DennisAbbott

Dina Avraam (+32 2 295 96 67)

1 :

Decision No 1622/2006/EC of the European Parliament and of the Council of 24 October 2006

Side Bar