Navigation path

Left navigation

Additional tools

Other available languages: FR DE NL

European Commission - Press release

European Border Breakers Awards: Selah Sue receives public choice award

Brussels, 11 January 2012 - The winners of the 2012 European Border Breakers Awards (''the EBBAs"), which highlight the best new music acts in Europe who have achieved cross-border chart success, were honoured this evening at the Eurosonic Noorderslag music festival in Groningen (The Netherlands). The biggest winner of the night was Belgian star Selah Sue, who scooped the public choice award, which was announced live during the ceremony following an online vote to select the 'best of the best'. Her debut soul-funk-ragga album, called Selah Sue, was a top 10 hit in Belgium, France and the Netherlands.

Click to view video interview with Selah Sue (broadcast version available
from Europe by Satellite)

The award ceremony featured performances by six of the ten EBBA winners: Boy (Germany), Anna Calvi (UK), Agnes Obel (Denmark), James Vincent McMorrow (Ireland), Elektro Guzzi (Austria), as well as Selah Sue herself. Alexandra Stan (Romania) was also present to collect her award. Swedish House Mafia (Sweden), Ben l'Oncle Soul (France) and Afrojack (Netherlands) sent video messages.

Hosted by TV personality Jools Holland, the event was broadcast live via YouTube and will be screened on TV throughout Europe in the coming weeks.

Now in their ninth year, the EBBAs aim to encourage artists to make the most of the Single Market by reaching out to new audiences beyond their home country. The awards receive €350 000 in co-funding from the European Commission's Culture Programme and are organized by Eurosonic Noorderslag, in partnership with the European Broadcasting Union.

More information

European Commission press release announcing this year's winners

Official EBBA website

Contacts :

Dennis Abbott (+32 2 295 92 58)

Dina Avraam (+32 2 295 96 67)

Side Bar