Navigation path

Left navigation

Additional tools

European Commission - Press release

Winners of 2011 EU Prize for Contemporary Architecture / Mies van der Rohe Awards honoured

Brussels / Barcelona, 20 June 2011 –The winners of the 2011 European Union Prize for Contemporary Architecture / Mies van der Rohe Award were honoured today in Barcelona. David Chipperfield Architects in collaboration with Julian Harrap received the main prize for their reconstruction of the Neues Museum in Berlin and Ramon Bosch and Bet Capdeferro won the 'emerging architect special mention' award for the Collage House in Girona. Androulla Vassiliou, European Commissioner for Education, Culture, Multilingualism and Youth, and Ramón García Bragado, President of the Mies van der Rohe Foundation, presented them with sculptures by the Catalan artist Xavier Corberó and a cash prize of €60,000 and €20,000 respectively. The ceremony will be followed by public lectures by the winners on 21 June.

‘I hope this prize will encourage more public and private investors to support the immense talent that we have in Europe in the field of contemporary architecture. I'm sure that David Chipperfield will continue to produce many more magnificent projects, and to Ramon Bosch and Bet Capdeferro I wish a very successful international career in the future,’ said Commissioner Vassiliou.

Both the winning projects involved a blend of old and new materials, breathing new life into existing structures. See IP/11/453.

As well as recognising excellence, the EU Prize for Contemporary Architecture / Mies van der Rohe award encourages architects to work beyond their national borders and contribute to building a stronger and more creative Europe, in line with the objectives of the Europe 2020 strategy.

The prize can open doors to new business. Winner of the 2009 award, Tarald Lundevall of Norwegian firm SNØHETTA, said: "It gave us increased visibility internationally and helped us to win new commissions."

Winners of the 2009 emerging architect special mention, Lea Pelivan and Toma Plejić of STUDIO UP (Zagreb, Croatia) said: "It was a great honour to receive the award for our first built work, as well as a huge stimulus for us. Instantly, our office became known in the global world of architecture. The award is not only a privilege, but also a responsibility to create great projects in the future.”

The 12th awards ceremony coincides with the 25th anniversary of the inauguration of the reconstruction of the Mies van der Rohe Pavilion in June 1986.


Launched in 1987, the European Union Prize for Contemporary Architecture / Mies van der Rohe Award is the most prestigious award in European architecture. It is presented every two years.

In 2011, the winners were chosen from 343 submitted works in 33 European countries. Six works were shortlisted for the main award. See IP/11/341. The other finalists were: Bronks Youth Theatre (Brussels, Belgium, designed by Martine De Maeseneer, Dirk Van den Brande); MAXXI: Museum of XXI Century Arts (Rome, Italy, by Zaha Hadid, Patrick Schumacher, Gianluca Racana); Concert House Danish Radio (Copenhagen, Denmark, by Jean Nouvel); Acropolis Museum (Athens, Greece, by Bernard Tschumi) and Rehabilitation Centre Groot Klimmendaal (Arnhem, The Netherlands, by Koen van Velsen).

The jury members who selected the finalists for 2011 are: Mohsen Mostafavi, Chair of the jury/Dean, Graduate School of Design, Harvard University, Cambridge, USA; Ole Bouman, Director, Nederlands Architectuurinstituut, Rotterdam; Yvonne Farrell, Grafton Architects, Dublin; Annette Gigon, Gigon/Guyer, Zürich; Anne Lacaton, Lacaton & Vassal Architectes, Paris; Tarald Lundevall, Architect, SNØHETTA, Oslo; Pei Zhu, Beijing, China, and Lluís Hortet, Secretary of the jury/Director of the Fundació Mies van der Rohe.

Architecture brings a significant contribution to EU economy and represents an important part of the cultural and creative industries, which provide jobs for 8.5 million people in the EU and contribute 4.5% to Europe's GDP. The EU Culture Programme – which has a budget of €400 million for 2007-2013 – supports cooperation projects in the fields of architecture and cultural heritage in 36 countries (27 Member States, Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway, Croatia, the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Montenegro, Serbia, Turkey and Bosnia-Herzegovina).

Mies van der Rohe Foundation

The Mies van der Rohe Foundation (Fundació Mies van der Rohe) was set up in 1983 by Barcelona City Hall with the initial purpose of reconstructing the German Pavilion, originally designed by Ludwig Mies van der Rohe for the 1929 Barcelona International Exhibition. In addition to preserving and managing the Pavilion, the Foundation also focuses on: promoting debate about contemporary architecture and urbanism; building a documentary archive on Ludwig Mies van der Rohe and on modern and contemporary architecture; and organising related awards, courses, lectures, exhibitions, publications and studies.

To find out more:

Contacts :

Dennis Abbott (+32 2 295 92 58)

Dina Avraam (+32 2 295 96 67)

Fundació Mies Van der Rohe:

Jordi García / Eva Salvó: +34 93 215 10 11

Adres e-mail:

Side Bar