Chemin de navigation

Left navigation

Additional tools

Autres langues disponibles: FR DE DA ES NL IT EL


Brussels, 22 March 2011

Six finalists announced for the 2011 EU Prize for contemporary architecture/Mies van der Rohe Award

BRUSSELS, 22 March - The European Commission and the Mies van der Rohe Foundation have announced the six finalists competing for the 2011 European Union Prize for Contemporary Architecture – the Mies van der Rohe Award. They have been shortlisted from 343 works in 33 European countries. The award ceremony will take place on 20 June at the Mies van der Rohe Pavilion in Barcelona, Spain.

"Our finalists have two things in common - they are European and they are among the world's most visionary architects. The EU Prize celebrates their talent and showcases the economic, social and cultural importance of our creative industries," said Androulla Vassiliou, European Commissioner for Education, Culture, Multilingualism and Youth.

The 6 finalists are:

  • Neues Museum (Berlin, Germany)

David Chipperfield Architects / David Chipperfield

  • Bronks Youth Theatre (Brussels, Belgium)

MDMA – Martine De Maeseneer Architecten / Martine De Maeseneer, Dirk Van den Brande

  • MAXXI: Museum of XXI Century Arts (Rome, Italy)

Zaha Hadid Architects / Zaha Hadid, Patrick Schumacher, Gianluca Racana

  • Concert House Danish Radio (Copenhagen, Denmark)

Ateliers Jean Nouvel / Jean Nouvel

  • Acropolis Museum (Athens, Greece)

Bernard Tschumi Architects / Bernard Tschumi

  • Rehabilitation Centre Groot Klimmendaal (Arnhem, The Netherlands)

Architectenbureau Koen van Velsen / Koen van Velsen

As well as highlighting excellence in contemporary buildings, the Prize highlights the contribution to the development of new ideas and technologies in urban development. Launched in 1987 and co-funded by the EU Culture Programme and the Mies van der Rohe Foundation, the €60 000 prize is the most prestigious award in European architecture and is awarded every other year to works completed within the previous two years. This year's ceremony is the 12th to take place since its launch.

Works nominated for the Prize are put forward by independent experts from all over Europe, as well as the member associations of the Architects' Council of Europe national architects' associations, and the advisory committee for the Prize.

The jury members who selected the finalists for 2011 are: Mohsen Mostafavi, Chair of the jury/Dean, Graduate School of Design, Harvard University, Cambridge, USA; Ole Bouman, Director, Nederlands Architectuurinstituut, Rotterdam; Yvonne Farrell, Grafton Architects, Dublin; Annette Gigon, Gigon/Guyer, Zürich; Anne Lacaton, Lacaton & Vassal Architectes, Paris; Tarald Lundevall, Architect, SNØHETTA, Oslo; Pei Zhu, Beijing, China, and Lluís Hortet, Secretary of the jury/Director of the Fundació Mies van der Rohe.

The complete list of 343 works, nominated by country, can be downloaded by clicking below:

Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Montenegro, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Serbia, Slovak Republic, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, The Netherlands, Turkey and United Kingdom.

Previous winners include:

Banco Borges e Irmão, Vila do Conde, Portugal by Álvaro Siza Vieira

Stansted Airport, London, United Kingdom, by Norman Foster / Norman Foster & Partners

Bibliothèque nationale de France, Paris, by Dominique Perrault

Kunsthaus Bregenz, Bregenz, Austria, by Peter Zumthor

Kursaal Centre, San Sebastián, Spain, by Rafael Moneo

Car Park and Terminus Hoenheim North, Strasbourg, France, by Zaha Hadid

Netherlands Embassy Berlin, Germany, by OMA / Rem Koolhaas, Ellen van Loon

Norwegian National Opera & Ballet, Oslo, Norway, by SNØHETTA/ Kjetil Trædal Thorsen, Tarald Lundevall, Craig Dykers

To find out more:

Side Bar