Navigation path

Left navigation

Additional tools

European Commission - Press release

The Lorenzo Natali Grand Prize 2011 awarded

Brussels, 08 December 2011 – 17 winners from all around the world were awarded Lorenzo Natali Prize for outstanding journalistic work covering issues of development, human rights and democracy during the award ceremony in Brussels tonight. They have been chosen from more than 1300 participants.

Speaking on the winners, European Commissioner for Development Andris Piebalgs said: "Good governance, human rights, democracy, and free media are key conditions for social and economic development. Europe is committed to promoting these values across the world, but recognises that they require the contribution of the media to give a voice to all citizens and to record events accurately. Through their commitment and professionalism, the 2011 Lorenzo Natali Prize winners have harnessed the potential to reach out to citizens, providing us with eye-opening human stories and on-the-ground realities. We applaud their efforts and thank them for their valuable contributions to promoting development, democracy and human rights all over the world."

The Prize is in its 20th year. Through this Prize, the European Commission aims to reward journalists reporting in often challenging circumstances, celebrating the ways in which journalism can be a seed of positive change, the inspiration for development, and the engine for democracy and human rights.

The subjects covered by other Lorenzo Natali Prize 2011 winners are: micro-credit, corrective rape and double life of homosexuals in Africa, India’s sex ratios, trafficking of children, witchcraft, female genital mutilation, slavery, etc.

A full list of all the winners and their articles and TV and Radio pieces are available on the Lorenzo Natali Prize website.


The Lorenzo Natali Prize has been part of the Commission's development policy for 20 years. Defending freedom of expression, democracy, human rights and development is a way of promoting good governance, peace and improving living conditions in the poorest countries.

Prizes worth a total of €60 000 (the Grand Prize, Special TV Prize and Special Radio Prize and the 1st prize in each regional category is €5000. The 2nd and the 3rd prize in regional categories are €2500 and €1500) are awarded to 17 journalists for coverage in the areas: Africa, Arab World/Middle East, Asia, Europe, Latin America/Caribbean, Special TV Prize, Special Radio Prize and the Grand Prize.

An independent jury, led by Toby Vogel, a senior journalist for the European Voice, selected this year's winners. For the organisation of the Lorenzo Natali Prize 2011, the European Commission is working together with the Reporters Without Borders, winner of the Sakharov Prize for Freedom of Thought in 2005.

Further information:

Lorenzo Natali Prize website:

Extracts and photos of the ceremony will be available on the Europe by Satellite (EbS):

Contacts :

Catherine Ray (+32 2 296 99 21)

Wojtek Talko (+32 2 297 85 51)

Side Bar