Chemin de navigation

Left navigation

Additional tools


Brussels, 8 June 2010

Commission appoints three new coordinators for the Trans-European Transport Network

The European Commission has today appointed Pat Cox, Péter Balázs and Gilles Savary as new European coordinators for the Trans-European Transport Network (TEN-T). The coordinators will be responsible for coordinating priority transport projects and reporting back to the Commission.

Vice-President Siim Kallas, responsible for transport, said: "I attach great importance to the proper and efficient implementation of the TEN-T priority projects. I am therefore delighted that the Commission has appointed three coordinators with such high profiles."

The three new European coordinators, appointed in agreement with the Member States and after having consulted the European Parliament, are:

  • Pat Cox, former president of the European Parliament, will take over the coordination of Priority Project 1 (Berlin–Palermo) from the late Karel Van Miert;

  • Péter Balázs, former Hungarian Minister of Foreign Affairs, returns to Priority Project 17 (Paris–Bratislava), the project he actively coordinated from July 2005 until April 2009;

  • Gilles Savary, former prominent member of the Parliament's transport committee, will be responsible for Priority Project 22 (Athens–Nuremberg/Dresden).

The new mandates will come into effect as of today and will end on 22 July 2013, together with the mandates of the existing coordinators.

With the appointment of three new coordinators, a total of nine Coordinators will be active on eleven priority projects.

Vice-President Kallas added: "The results of the work of the coordinators has been to the full satisfaction of the Member States, the Parliament, the Commission and other stakeholders. It will encourage us to continue working on these projects in order to ensure an efficient implementation of our TEN-T policy."

More information on TEN-T Priority Projects:

Side Bar