Navigation path

Left navigation

Additional tools


Brussels, 6 December 2010

The Lorenzo Natali Grand Prize 2010 awarded to the Nicaraguan journalist Yader Luna for article on violence against women

Today, Commissioner for Development Andris Piebalgs awarded the Lorenzo Natali Grand Prize to Yader Luna for his article "Palabra de Mujer" (Woman's Word). The Award Ceremony took place in Brussels Town Hall, where 17 journalists from all around the world were awarded Natali Prizes for their outstanding journalistic work covering issues of development, human rights and democracy. Twelve regional prizes for written and online media were awarded along with a special prize for TV and a special prize for radio journalists.

European Commissioner for Development Andris Piebalgs said: "Good governance, human rights, and freedom of media are recognised as key conditions for social and economic development of countries. With the Lorenzo Natali Awards today, I’m proud to reward the excellent work of journalists from all continents. Their commitment and professionalism provide us with many eye-opening stories. By reporting human stories and realities, journalists contribute to promoting development and democracy all over the world."

Yader Luna's article was published in the newspaper La Brújula Semanal. The story describes the everyday life of a group of women in the community of Bocana de Paiwas (located in central Nicaragua). In their daily combat against violence, they have founded a small radio station to denounce men who mistreat women.

The subjects covered by other Lorenzo Natali Award 2010 prize winners include:

  • Child sacrifices in Ivory Coast

  • Forced premature marriages of young girls in Egypt

  • Cocoa market scandal in Ivory Coast

  • Pollution of rivers in India

  • Right of education for children in India

  • Brazilian ammunition export

  • Indigenous migrants struggle to survive in Mexico

  • Blood-bath at football stadium in Guinea

  • One child policy and child abduction in China

More than 1100 journalists submitted their work to compete for the Lorenzo Natali Prize 2010. An independent jury, led by Kai Niklasch, a senior journalist for the German public television broadcaster ZDF, selected this year's winners.


The Lorenzo Natali Prize has been an integral part of the Commission's development policy for almost 20 years. Defending freedom of expression, democracy, human rights and development is a way of promoting good governance, peace and improving living conditions in the poorest countries.

Prizes worth a total of €60 000 (the Grand Prize, Special TV Prize and Special Radio Prize and the 1st prize in each regional category is €5000. The 2nd and the 3rd prize in regional categories are €2500 and €1500) are awarded to 17 journalists for coverage in the areas: Africa, Arab World/Middle East, Asia, Europe, Latin America/Caribbean, Special TV Prize, Special Radio Prize and the Grand Prize.

For the organisation of the Lorenzo Natali Prize, the European Commission is once again working with two of the most prestigious world press associations:

  • Reporters Without Borders, winner of the Sakharov Prize for Freedom of Thought in 2005;

  • WAN IFRA - World Association of Newspapers and News Publishers, which represents over 18 000 publications in all five continents.

Lorenzo Natali (1922-1990) was a European Commissioner and then a Vice President of the Commission between 1976 and 1989, with special responsibility for cooperation and development between 1985 and 1989.

For more information visit the Lorenzo Natali website.

Extracts and photos of the ceremony will be available on the Europe by Satellite (EbS) website.

Side Bar