Navigation path

Left navigation

Additional tools


Brussels, 6 October 2010

Winners of the EU Prize for Literature announced at Frankfurt Book Fair

The European Commission announced the winning authors of the 2nd annual European Union Prize for Literature at the Frankfurt Book Fair today. The prize aims to draw attention to new talents and to promote the publication of their books in different countries, as well as celebrating European cultural diversity. The 11 winning authors were selected by national juries in Belgium, Cyprus, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, Germany, Luxembourg, Romania, Slovenia, Spain and the Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia. They will receive their prize from Androulla Vassiliou, the Commissioner for Education, Culture, Multilingualism and Youth, during a ceremony on 18 November in Brussels.

Commissioner Vassiliou said: "I am delighted to announce this year's winners and I hope that the prize will open up the possibility of their works being translated and reaching a wider readership beyond their home country. Once they are translated and promoted, their books can also provide content for film, television and theatre and contribute to the success of our cultural and creative industries.''

The European Union Prize for Literature is funded by the EU Culture Programme, the European Booksellers Federation, the European Writers' Council and the Federation of European Publishers. Each winning author receives € 5 000.

The countries entitled to nominate the winning authors changes each year, so that all 35 countries participating in the programme are represented over a three-year period.

Europe's cultural and linguistic diversity is a tremendous asset, but it also presents challenges. For example, the European Union has 23 official languages, around 60 regional and minority languages, and uses 3 alphabets (Latin, Cyrillic and Greek).

Every year, numerous new European writers get their works published nationally but only a few of them see their books translated into another European language which can potentially help them reach the 550 million people living within the EU.

The EU Culture Programme also offers financial support for the translation of literary works. Since 2007, it has provided €8.5 million to facilitate the translation of 1 500 books.

The winners of the European Union Prize for Literature 2010 are:


Peter Terrin

Book: De Bewaker (2009)

Publishing house: De Arbeiderspers


Myrto Azina Chronides

Book: To Peirama (2009)

Publishing house: Armida Publications


Adda Djørup

Book: Den mindste modstand (2009)

Publishing house: Samleren


Tiit Aleksejev

Book: Palveränd (2008)

Publishing house: Varrak


Riku Korhonen

Book: Lääkäriromaani (2008)

Publishing house: Sammakko


Iris Hanika

Book: Das Eigentliche (2010)

Publishing house: Droschl Verlag


Jean Back

Book: Amateur (2009)

Publishing house: Ultimondo


Răzvan Rădulescu

Book: Teodosie cel Mic (2006)

Publishing house: Polirom


Nataša Kramberger

Book: Nebesa v Robidah (2007)

Publishing house: Javni sklad RS za ljubiteljske dejavnosti


Raquel Martínez-Gómez

Book: Sombros de unicornio (2007)

Publishing house: Algaida Editores

The Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia

Goce Smilevski

Book: Сестрата на Зигмунд Фројд (2007)

Publishing house: Kultura

More information

Culture Programme website:

European Prize for Literature:

Side Bar