Chemin de navigation

Left navigation

Additional tools

Autres langues disponibles: FR DE FI CS

IP/09/ 1777

Brussels, 20 November 2009

Single European Sky: Commission sends reasoned opinions to four Member States

The European Commission today decided to send reasoned opinions to four EU Member States (Luxembourg, Greece, the Czech Republic and Finland) that have failed to notify, or have only partially notified, their measures for the transposition into national law of a European directive on the Community air traffic controller licence.

The aim of the directive 1 is to ensure high levels of responsibility and competence among air traffic controllers while also enabling mutual recognition of licences. The goal is to improve the overall safety of air traffic in the Single European Sky.

Luxembourg, the Czech Republic and Greece have not yet communicated any national measures to transpose the directive. Finland has communicated only partial transposition measures. The deadline for transposition was 17 May 2008.

The sending of reasoned opinions is the second stage of the infringement procedure launched in response to failure to transpose directives within the time limits specified. Member States have two months in which to reply, failing which the Commission advances to the next stage of the infringement procedure.

1 :

Directive 2006/23/EC of the European Parliament and of the Council of 5 April 2006 on a Community air traffic controller licence

Side Bar