Chemin de navigation

Left navigation

Additional tools

Autres langues disponibles: FR DE NL IT SV PT ET


Brussels, 11 November 2009

Europe celebrates 'border-breaking' music

The winners of the 2010 European Border Breakers Awards (EBBAs) have been chosen. They will receive their awards in a show to be presented by British TV personality Jools Holland in Groningen on 14 January 2010. The show will be attended by the European Commissioner for Education, Training, Culture and Youth Maroš Šefčovič and will be covered on television throughout Europe. For the first time ever, a new category of winner, the 'Public Choice EBBA', will be selected by the European public by voting on line.

The European Border Breaker Awards are given to debut artists or groups for their success in crossing national borders and reaching audiences outside their own country. They are given by the European Commission , in cooperation with the European Broadcasting Union (EBU)

The Awards highlight the need to make fuller use of the potential of the common market in which musical consumption patterns are still predominantly national in nature. They aim therefore to stimulate the mobility of artists and the circulation of their work within Europe and beyond, as well as to raise awareness and appreciation among audiences of music from outside their national borders.

The winners of the 2010 European Border Breakers Awards are:

Milow “Milow” – Belgium

Charlie Winston “Hobo” – United Kingdom

Peter Fox “Stadtaffe” – Germany

Soap & Skin “Lovetune for Vacuum” – Austria

Kerli “Love Is Dead” – Estland

Jenny Wilson “Hardships” – Sweden

Buraka Som Sistema “Black Diamond” – Portugal

Sliimy “Paint Your Face” – France

Esmee Denters “Outta Here” – The Netherlands

Giusy Ferreri “Non Ti Scordar Mai Di Me” – Italy

The award ceremony will be recorded by Dutch national television (NOS) and broadcast on Saturday, 16 January. The show will receive European coverage through the EBU broadcasting network of European television and radio stations.

Former EBBA winners include now established artists such as Carla Bruni , Adele , Alphabeat, The Ting Tings , Tokio Hotel, Damien Rice, The Thrills, Gabriel Rios, The Fratellis, Basshunter, Dolores O’ Riordan and many more.

This is the seventh edition of this successful European Union award, with which the European Commission – in close partnership with the European music industry – highlights the creative richness and diversity of European contemporary music.

New: the EBBA Public Choice Award

A novelty for 2010 is the introduction of the Public Choice EBBA: one of the 2010 winners will be chosen by the European audience as the most popular border breaking act in Europe and will be rewarded with the Public Choice EBBA.

The voting for the Public Choice Award takes place online at from mid-November until the end of the year. The voting is supported by EBU radio stations throughout Europe.

The winner of the Public Choice EBBA will be announced during the ceremony on January 14 th in Groningen.

EBBA criteria

The EBBAs are funded through the EU Culture Programme which also funds the European Union Prize for Contemporary Architecture, the European Union Prize for Cultural Heritage and the European Union Prize for Literature.

The artists receiving this award are selected on the basis of statistics provided by the Billboard Information Group, the European Broadcasting Union and the European Talent Exchange Programme according to the following criteria

  • First album released outside the home territory of an artist or group from the 34 countries participating in the EU Culture Programme.

  • Sales in EU Member states outside the country of production during the past year (between 01/09 and 31/08/2009);

  • Radio airplay information; all public radio stations from EU countries provide their most played list of new European acts.

  • The artist's ability to perform live, their touring capacity and success at European festivals outside of his/her home country

These criteria were compiled by EMO in cooperation with the European Broadcasting Union , the Billboard Information Group and European festivals participating in the European Talent Exchange Program.

Side Bar