Navigation path

Left navigation

Additional tools

IP/09/ 1573

Brussels, 22 October 2009

The Natali Grand Prize is awarded to Chinese journalist Yee Chong LEE for his report on the Sichuan earthquake

The award ceremony of the Lorenzo Natali Prizes for Journalism took place today during the 2009 European Development Days. An independent jury of eight representatives of the world of journalism chose the fifteen award-winners from over 1000 candidates from all over the world. Twelve regional prizes, a Special Prize for Radio, a Special Prize for Television and the Grand Prize were awarded. The Natali Grand Prize went to Yee Chong Lee, a journalist for Now TV, for his report "Sichuan earthquake, one year on". This young journalist from Hong Kong spent a month on the scene of the catastrophe talking to the inhabitants to find out the reasons behind the disaster and how reconstruction is progressing.

Commissioner for Development and Humanitarian Aid Karel De Gucht said:

"Freedom of expression is a fundamental right. By taking on the role of witnesses to our times, journalists have chosen to show the living conditions of our fellow men, to report the events which shake the world and to denounce injustice and expose scandals: all this contributes to promoting democracy, development and freedoms. The Natali Prize is an opportunity to recognise the men and women who attempt to improve the world we live in by opening our eyes to today's realities, sometimes by putting their own lives in peril. Congratulations to all the prize-winners and in particular to 2009 Natali Grand Prize winner, Yee Chong Lee, who has shown that following a story long after it was in the headlines is necessary. I also particularly wish to thank the members of the 2009 Jury and its President, Barbara Serra, journalist for Al Jazeera."

The topics covered by the other prize-winners' reports included:

  • the persecution of albinos in Sub-Saharan Africa ;

  • militias in the favelas;

  • the black market in corpses in China;

  • war rape in DRC;

  • children accused of witchcraft in DRC;

  • incarceration conditions in Zimbabwe.


The Lorenzo Natali Prize was created in 1992 and is open to the whole world and all media.

This Prize is an integral part of the European Commission's development policy, which considers the protection of fundamental freedoms, freedom of expression, democracy and human rights as essential.

To organise the Lorenzo Natali Prize, the European Commission worked with some of the most renowned world press associations, such as Reporters Without Borders, winner of the 2005 Sakharov Prize for Freedom of Thought, and the World Association of Newspapers and News Publishers, which represents over 18 000 publications in all five continents.

Find out more:

For TV: Extracts of the ceremony and Special Video News Release on the Grand Prize Winner (more info on Europe by Satellite):


Palmarès complet :

Grand Prix Natali :

Sichuan Earthquake, One year on de Yee Chong LEE, Now TV, Chine

Résultats de la région Afrique :

1 er Prix: The battle for souls de Richard MGAMBA, The Guardian on Sunday , Tanzanie

2 ème Prix: Undercover inside the chinese sex mafia… d’Anas AREMEYAW ANAS, The New Crusading Guide , Ghana

3 ème Prix: Du pain souterrain au prix de la témérité de Moussa ZONGO, L'événement , Burkina Faso

Résultats de la région Amérique Latine et Caraïbes :

1 er Prix: Dossiê Milícia de João Antônio BARROS et Thiago PRADO, O Dia , Brésil

2 ème Prix: Amores que matan de Dora Luz ROMERO MEJÍA, La Prensa , Nicaragua

3 ème Prix: En clínicas se hace de todo para curar homosexualidad de María Alejandra TORRES REYES, Diario El Universo , Equateur

Résultats de la région Asie et Pacifique :

1 er Prix: Deadly harvest de Fiona TAM, South China Morning Post , Chine

2 ème Prix: The Ticking Bomb de Massoud ANSARI, Herald , Pakistan

3 ème Prix: Living Without Bombs de Mui Yoon CHIN, The Star , Malaysia

Résultats de la Région Europe :

1 er Prix: Raped By Seven Soldiers. Forced To See Her Family Murdered... de Lucy ADAMS, The Herald , UK

2 ème Prix: Lipstick revolution: Iran's women are taking on the mullahs de Katherine BUTLER, The Independent , UK

3 ème Prix: Daddy raped me. Simply raped. Almost every day de Janar FILIPPOV, Eesti Ekspress , Estonie

Le Prix spécial Radio est attribué à Enfants dits "sorciers": enfants en danger de Freddy MATA MATUNDU et Larissa DIAKANUA, Radio Top Congo FM, RDC

Le Prix spécial TV a été attribué à Hell Hole de Johann ABRAHAMS & Godknows NARE, SABC, Afrique du Sud

Composition du Jury 2009 :

Présidente :

Barbara Serra - Al Jazeera, TV

Membres :

Heather Blake - Reporters sans frontière (RSF)

Agnès Gaudu - Courrier International

Kate Gilmore - Amnesty International

Raphael Gomide - Grand Prix Lorenzo Natali 2008

Karin Hübinette - SVT TV

Larry Kilman - World Association of Newspapers and News Publishers (WAN-IFRA)

Martin Plaut - BBC

Side Bar