Navigation path

Left navigation

Additional tools

Other available languages: FR DE ES NL IT SV EL PL


Brussels, 20 January 2007

4th "Border Breakers" Awards: a prize to encourage mobility of artists in Europe

Europe's border breaking success stories in the field of music will be recognized and celebrated at a ceremony due to take place in Cannes on 21 January 2007. On the opening day of the international music festival Midem, ten European bands and solo artists along with their record companies, authors and publishers will be awarded this year's European Border Breakers Awards which pay tribute to the entire process of musical creation. With this award, the European Commission, in partnership with the European music industry and MTV, wishes to celebrate and promote the richness and diversity of European music. It also aims to raise young people's awareness about the importance of breaking geographical and mental barriers in such fundamental matters as creativity and the dialogue between cultures.

Ján Figel', European Commissioner for Education, Training & Culture said: "These awards are a testimony to the diversity of European music and to the way it brings people together, especially young people".

On Sunday 21 January 2007, the European Commission will organize the European Border Breakers Ceremony[1] in Cannes for the fourth consecutive year.

At the ceremony – which will feature 7 winners performing live - , ten European bands will be presented with European Border Breakers Awards (EBBA), based on statistics provided by the Billboard Information Group and according to the following criteria:

  • Original debut album of an artist or a band from an EU Member State;
  • Sales in EU Member states outside the country of production;
  • Sales between 1 September 2005 and 31 August 2006.

... and this year's winners are:

Corinne Bailey Rae
Corinne Bailey Rae
Good Groove/EMI
Blog 27
Magic Rec/Kontor
Celtic Woman
Celtic Woman
José Gonzalez
Vittorio Grigolo
In the Hands of Love
Beatriz Luengo
Beatriz Luengo
Ilona Mitrecey
Un monde parfait
Helena Paparizou
My Number one
Columbia/Sony BMG
Gabriel Rios
Megadisc Recordings
Tokio Hotel

Earlier in the day, prior to the EBBA ceremony, policy aspects will be debated at an informal meeting of the European Ministers of Culture, together with music professionals, which will be held at the Palais des Festivals. Debate will focus on issues related to the economic aspects of culture and on the music sector's contribution to creativity and cultural diversity in the age of the digital economy. This is a joint initiative of the European Commission and the French Ministry of Culture.

In accordance with the constructive spirit of the awards, EBBA winners and labels can also qualify for EU support in the form of co-financing for the organization of a pan-European Tour including at least four EU Member states.

By sponsoring the increasingly prominent EBBA awards, the European Commission is making a valuable contribution to the European music industry's efforts to assert itself in both the European and international markets.
For further information on EU activities and policies in the field of culture, visit:
For further information on the EBBA initiative, visit our special website

[1] The European Border Breakers Awards is an initiative of the European Commission. It is organized in cooperation with the music industry, represented this year by Universal, SACEM, EMO, GESAC, ICMP/CIEM, IFPI, IMPALA, as well as with MTV and Billboard Information Group.

Side Bar