Navigation path

Left navigation

Additional tools

Other available languages: FR DE DA NL


Brussels, 21st February 2007

State aid: Commission approves regional aid maps 2007-2013 for Belgium and Denmark

The European Commission has approved under EC Treaty state aid rules the regional aid maps covering the period 2007-2013 for Belgium and Denmark. These decisions form part of a wider exercise to review the regional aid regimes in place in all Member States in accordance with the new Regional Aid Guidelines (see IP/05/1653 and MEMO/05/491) adopted in December 2005. The new Guidelines aim at re-focussing regional aid on the most disadvantaged regions of the enlarged EU, while allowing to improve competitiveness and to provide for a smooth transition. The maps of twenty-two other Member States have already been approved by the Commission (see IP/06/1176, IP/06/1393, IP/06/1451, IP/06/1528, IP/06/1871 and IP/07/153).

Competition Commissioner Neelie Kroes said: “The approved maps support our cohesion policy and contribute to the State Aid Action Plan’s objective of less and better targeted aid. Belgium and Denmark will now be able to implement their regional development strategies for 2007-2013.”

A regional aid map defines the regions of a Member State eligible for national regional investment aid for large enterprises under EC Treaty state aid rules and establishes the maximum permitted levels of such aid in the eligible regions. The adoption of a regional aid map is a pre-condition to ensure the continuity of the regional policy and Structural Fund programmes as from January 2007, as the validity of all previous maps expired on 31 December 2006. The three remaining EU Member States (France, Italy and The Netherlands) are not able to grant any regional aid within their territory until a new map is approved by the Commission.

Article 87(3)(a) EC Treaty allows aid to promote the economic development of areas with serious underemployment or an abnormally low standard of living. The Regional Guidelines define this type of region as having a GDP below 75% of the Community average.

Article 87(3)(c) EC Treaty allows aid to facilitate the development of certain economic activities or areas, where such aid does not adversely affect trading conditions. The Regional Guidelines define this type of region as an area of a Member State which is disadvantaged in relation to the national average. As these regions are less disadvantaged than areas covered by Article 87(3)(a), the geographical scope and the aid intensity are strictly limited.


The region of Hainaut with 12.4% of the Belgian population remains eligible for aid as a statistical effect region under Article 87(3)(a) at a maximum aid intensity of 30% until 31 December 2010. Statistical effect regions have, following the enlargement of the European Union by 10 new Member States in May 2004, a GDP below 75% of the EU-15 average but above 75% of the EU-25 average. In 2010, the Commission will assess whether the GDP of this region is below 75% of the Community average (EU-25). If this is the case, the aid ceiling remains 30%, if not, it becomes eligible under Article 87(3)(c) at an aid ceiling of 20%.

For the period 2007-2013, 13.5% of Belgium’s population remain eligible for aid under Article 87(3)(c) at an aid ceiling of 15% or 10%, with 6% allocated to the Flemish Region, 6% to the Walloon Region and 1.5% to the Brussels Capital Region.


For the period 2007-2013, 8.6% of Denmark’s population remain eligible for aid under Article 87(3)(c) at an aid ceiling of 15% or 10%.

For the period 2007-2008 a further 2.7% of the Danish population is eligible as a transitional additional coverage at an aid ceiling of 10%.
Information on the approved map will soon be published in the EU’s Official Journal. A non-official version of the decision will be available for information purposes in the working language on the Commission’s website.

For further details on the approved map, see MEMO/07/71.

Side Bar