Navigation path

Left navigation

Additional tools

Other available languages: none


Brussels, 12 August 2004

Portfolio Responsibilities of the Barroso Commission

Responsibilities Departments[1]

José Manuel BARROSO
Responsible for:
  • Political guidance of the Commission
  • Organisation of the Commission in order to ensure that it acts consistently, efficiently and on the basis of collegiality
  • Allocation of responsibilities
Chair of Group of Commissioners on Lisbon Strategy
Chair of Group of Commissioners for External Relations
  • Secretariat General
  • Legal Service
  • Spokesperson
  • Group of Policy Advisers (GOPA)
Vice President
Commissioner for Institutional Relations and Communication Strategy
Responsible for:
  • Relations with the European Parliament
  • Relations with the Council and representation of the Commission, under the authority of the President, in the General Affairs Council
  • Contacts with National Parliaments
  • Relations with the Committee of the Regions, the Economic and Social Committee, and the Ombudsman
  • Replacing the President when absent
  • Coordination of press and communication strategy
Chair of Group of Commissioners for Communications and Programming
Press and Communication DG including Representations in the Member States

Vice President
Commissioner for Enterprise and Industry
Responsible for:
  • Enterprise and industry
  • Coordination of Commission’s role in the Competitiveness Council
  • Chair of Group of Commissioners for the Competitiveness Council
Vice Chair of Group of Commissioners on Lisbon Strategy
  • DG Enterprise and Industry (renamed), adding:
  • Space (from DG RTD)
  • Security-related research (from DG INFSO/RTD)
  • Application of treaty rules on free movement of goods (from DG MARKT)
  • Agencies:
  • EMEA (European Agency for the Evaluation of Medicinal Products)
  • ECA (European Chemicals Agency)
Jacques BARROT
Vice President
Commissioner for Transport
Responsible for:
  • Transport
  • Transport activities in the Transport and Energy DG
  • Agencies:
  • EMSA (European Maritime Safety Agency)
  • EASA (European Aviation Safety Agency)
  • ERA (European Railway Agency)
Vice President
Commissioner for Administrative Affairs, Audit and Anti-Fraud
Responsible for:
  • Consolidation of Administrative Reform
  • Personnel and Administration
  • Budgetary discharge
  • Internal Audit
  • Fight against Fraud
  • Security
Chair of the Audit Progress Committee
  • Personnel and Administration DG
  • Internal Audit Service
  • European Anti-Fraud Office (OLAF)
  • Informatics DG
  • Office for Administration and Payment of individual entitlements
  • Offices for Infrastructures and Logistics
  • Relations with the Inter-institutional European Personnel Selection Office

Vice President
Commissioner for Justice, Freedom and Security
Responsible for:
  • Justice and Home Affairs
  • Justice, Freedom and Security DG (renamed)
  • Agencies:
  • EMCDDA (European Monitoring Centre for Drugs and Drug Addiction)
  • EUMC (European Monitoring Centre on Racism and Xenophobia) – will be combined with Fundamental Rights
  • Border Control (European Agency for the Management of Operational Cooperation at the External Borders)
Viviane REDING
Commissioner for Information Society and Media
Responsible for:
  • Information Society
  • Audiovisual Policy
  • Coordination of Media Affairs
  • Information Society DG adding:
  • Audiovisual policy and Media programme Units from DG EAC
  • Agencies:
  • ENISA (European Network and Information Security Agency)
Stavros DIMAS
Commissioner for Environment
Responsible for:
  • Environment
  • Environment DG
  • EEA (European Environment Agency)
Commissioner for Economic and Monetary Affairs
Responsible for:
  • Economic and Financial Affairs
  • Monetary matters
  • Statistical Office
  • Economic and Financial Affairs DG
  • Statistical Office
Commissioner for Regional Policy
Responsible for:
  • Regional Policy
  • Cohesion Fund
  • Solidarity Fund
Regional Policy DG

Commissioner for Fisheries and Maritime Affairs
Responsible for:
  • Fisheries
  • Coordination of maritime affairs
Chair of Commission Taskforce to develop a Green Paper on maritime Policy
  • Fisheries and Maritime Affairs DG (renamed) adding:
  • Transfer of responsibility for law of the sea from RELEX
  • Agencies:
  • CFCA (Community Fisheries Control Agency)
Commissioner for Financial Programming and Budget
Responsible for:
  • Financial Programming
  • Budget
  • Budget DG
Commissioner for Science and Research
Responsible for:
  • Science, Research and Development
  • Joint Research Centre
  • Research DG
  • JRC
Commissioner for Education, Training, Culture, and Multilingualism
Responsible for:
  • Education and Training
  • Youth, Sport, Civil Society
  • Culture
  • Translation and Interpretation
  • Education and Culture DG
  • Interpretation DG(SCIC)
  • Translation DG
  • Relations with Inter-institutional Publications Office (OPOCE)
  • Agencies:
  • CEDEFOP (European Centre for the Development of Vocational Training)
  • ETF (European Training Foundation)
  • CdT (Translation Centre for the Bodies of the European Union)

Commissioner for Health and Consumers Protection
Responsible for:
  • Public Health
  • Consumers Affairs
  • Health and Consumer Protection DG
  • Agencies:
  • CPVO (Community Plant Variety Office)
  • ECDC (European Centre for Disease Prevention and Control)
  • EFSA (European Food Safety Authority)
Commissioner for Enlargement
Responsible for:
  • Candidate countries (Rumania, Bulgaria, Croatia, Turkey)
  • Western Balkans
  • Enlargement DG adding
  • Western Balkans Directorate from RELEX DG
  • Agencies:
  • EAR (European Agency for Reconstruction)
Commissioner for Development and Humanitarian Aid
Responsible for:
  • Development Aid and Cooperation
  • Humanitarian Aid
  • Development DG
  • Humanitarian Aid Office (ECHO)
Commissioner for Energy
Responsible for:
  • Energy policy
  • Nuclear Safety and Security
  • Energy activities in the Transport and Energy DG
Neelie KROES
Commissioner for Competition
Responsible for:
  • Competition DG
Commissioner for Agriculture and Rural Development
Responsible for:
  • Agriculture
  • Rural Development
  • Agriculture and Rural Development DG (renamed)

Commissioner for External Relations and European Neighbourhood Policy
Responsible for:
  • External Relations
  • Common Foreign and Security Policy
  • European Neighbourhood Policy
  • Delegations in non-member countries
Vice-Chair of Group of Commissioners for External Relations
  • External Relations DG
  • EuropeAid – Cooperation Office
Charlie McCREEVY
Commissioner for Internal Market and Services
Responsible for:
  • Internal Market
  • Financial Services
  • Internal Market and services DG (renamed)adding:
  • Free movement of capital from ECFIN DG
  • Responsibility for business related services and management of notifications by MS of draft rules on services from ENTR DG
  • Agencies:
  • OHIM (Office for the Harmonisation of the Internal Market – Trade Marks and designs)
Vladimir SPIDLA
Commissioner for Employment, Social Affairs and Equal Opportunities
Responsible for:
  • Employment
  • Social Affairs
  • Equal Opportunities
Chair of Group of Commissioners for Equal Opportunities
  • Employment Social Affairs and Equal Opportunities DG (renamed)
  • Agencies:
  • EUROFOUND (European Foundation for the Improvement of Living and Working Conditions)
  • EU-OSHA (European Agency for Safety and Health at Work)
Commissioner for Trade
Responsible for:
  • Trade Policy
  • International dimension of competitiveness
Member of the Group of Commissioners for the Competitiveness Council
  • Trade DG

Ingrida UDRE
Commissioner for Taxation and Customs Union
Responsible for:
  • Customs
  • Taxation
  • Taxation and Customs Union DG

[1] This list of department responsibilities is indicative and may be subject to adjustments at a later stage

Side Bar