Chemin de navigation

Left navigation

Additional tools

Autres langues disponibles: FR DE


Brussels, 22 May 2003

European Union prize for contemporary architecture

Viviane Reding, the Member of the Commission responsible for education and culture, today announced that the European Union prize for contemporary architecture the Mies van der Rohe Award has gone to Mrs Zaha Hadid for the design and construction of the Hoenheim Nord tram terminal in Strasbourg (France). The special commendation for young architects went to Mr Jürgen Mayer H. for the Scharnhauser Park municipal offices in Ostfildern (Germany).

"Architecture is not just a major art form in Europe it also has important cultural and social implications. This prize is designed to reward the talents of experienced and young architects alike, and to show the people of Europe how good contemporary European architecture is and how it is making a contribution to the harmonious development of our towns and cities," said Viviane Reding.

The prize and the special commendation form part of the "Culture 2000" programme, the initiative coming jointly from the European Commission and the Mies van der Rohe Foundation in Barcelona. The prize is awarded every two years for excellence and innovation in the design, technical merit and construction of European structures, and to help make people more aware of the cultural importance of contemporary architecture and its impact on the current and future development of Europe's towns and cities.

An international jury of nine members(1), comprising experienced architects and acknowledged experts in the field, and chaired by the British architect David Chipperfield, shortlisted 41 works out of an initial total of 269, and visited five of them. This year, the building which received the special commendation was among the five finalists.

The prize goes to recent buildings (no more than two years old) in any of the countries covered by the "Culture 2000" programme. Two awards are made each time round: the European Union prize for contemporary architecture the Mies van der Rohe Award and the special "young architect" commendation, which goes to architects of no more than 40 years of age at the start of their careers. In 2001, the awards went to Rafael Moneo for the Kursaal Centre in San Sebastián (Spain) and to Florian Nagler for the Kaufmann Holz Distribution Centre in Bobingen (Germany).

The Mies van der Rohe Award and the special commendation will be handed to the prize winners on 28 May 2003 in the Mies van der Rohe Pavilion in Barcelona. The Award is worth € 50 000, while the special commendation is worth € 10 000. The two winners will also receive a sculpture by the Catalan artist Xavier Corberó, inspired by the Mies van der Rohe Pavilion.

The ceremony will be followed on 29 May 2003 by a symposium on contemporary European architecture at the Collegi d'Arquitectes de Catalunya at which the two award-winning works and the rest of the shortlisted buildings will be on view. An exhibition of photographs and plans of the 41 shortlisted buildings, along with models and explanatory texts, will then tour various European cities, and a catalogue of these works will be published.

41 works selected by jury


AustriaZaha HadidBergisel Ski JumpInnsbruck
AustriaRainer KöberlSupermarket M-Preis WennsWenns
AustriaLaurids Ortner, Manfred OrtnerMuseumsquartier Wien: Mumok, Kunsthalle, Leopold MuseumVienna
BelgiumPaul Robbrecht, Hilde DaemConcert HallBruges
Czech RepRichard Dolezal, Petr Malinský, Petr Burian, Michal Pokorný, Martin KotíkEURO PalacePrague
Czech RepJosef PleskotPathway through Deer Moat Prague
DenmarkMads Bjørn Hansen, Roland MeierMultipurpose HouseNaestved
FrancePierre du Besset, Dominique LyonMultimedia LibraryTroyes
France*Zaha Hadid*Terminus Hoenheim North*Strasbourg*
France*Anne Lacaton, Jean Philippe Vassal*Palais de Tokyo Site for Contemporary Creation*Paris*
FranceAnne Lacaton, Jean Philippe VassalUniversity of Arts & Human Sciences (2nd phase)Grenoble
FranceDominique PerraultMultimedia LibraryVénissieux
GermanyFlorian BeigelA Second Natural Landscape in CospudenLeipzig
GermanyJens Bothe, Kai Richter, Hadi TeheraniSwiss Re Office BuildingUnterföhring
GermanyChristian Brückner, Peter BrücknerArt DepotWürzburg
GermanyWolfgang Lorch, Nikolaus Hirsch, Andrea Wandel, Andreas Hoefer, Hubertus Wandel, Rena Wandel-HoeferDresden SynagogueDresden
Germany*Jürgen Mayer H.*Scharnhauser Park Town Hall*Ostfildern*
GermanyTill SchneiderMemorial Soviet Special Camp Nr.7/Nr.1 in SachsenhausenOranienburg
IrelandShelley McNamara, Yvonne Farrell, Ger Carty, Philippe O'Sullivan, John-Barry Lowe,

Emmet Scanlon

Dunshaughlin Civic Offices, Town Hall, 'One-Stop Shop'Dunshaughlin
IrelandSheila O'Donnell, John TuomeyThe Furniture CollegeLetterfrack,

Co. Galway

ItalyMarco NavarraStrip Park between Caltagirone & Piazza ArmerinaCaltagirone Piazza Armerina
ItalyFrancesco VeneziaMaterial Testing Laboratory IUAVVenice
NorwayJan Olav Jensen, Børre SkodvinMortensrud ChurchOslo
PortugalJ.P.Falcão de CamposDr. Saraiva Lima HouseAlcácer do Sal
SpainIñaki Ábalos, Juan HerrerosPublic Library in UseraMadrid
SpainRafael Aranda, Carme Pigem, Ramon VilaltaTussols-Basil Athletics TrackOlot
SpainAlberto Campo BaezaGranada General Savings BankGranada
SpainJavier García-Solera VeraLecture Hall 3, University San Vicente del RaspeigAlicante
SpainLuis M. Mansilla, Emilio Tuñón ÁlvarezLeón AuditoriumLeón
SpainCésar PortelaFisterra CemeteryFisterra
SpainJosé Miguel Roldán, Mercè BerenguéM&M HousesBellaterra
SpainBenedetta Tagliabue, Enric MirallesParc dels colorsMollet del Vallès
The NetherlandsWiel AretsHedge House Art GalleryWijlre
The Netherlands*Xaveer De Geyter*Chassé Park Apartments*Breda*
The NetherlandsBurton Hamfelt, Chris Moller, Dominic Papa, Jonathan WoodroffeSchots 1 and 2Groningen
The Netherlands*Winy Maas, Jacob van Rijs, Nathalie de Vries*Hagen Island*The Hague*
The NetherlandsKoen van VelsenMedia Authority BuildingHilversum
United KingdomTony FrettonThe Sainsbury HouseLondon
United KingdomNicholas Grimshaw, Andrew Whalley, Jolyon Brewis, David Kirkland, Michael PawlynThe Eden ProjectSt. Austell, Cornwall
United KingdomDaniel LibeskindImperial War Museum NorthManchester
United KingdomWilliam RussellHouse on Bacon StreetLondon

* (Five buildings visited by the jury at the final selection stage)

(1)Aaron Betsky, Eduard Bru, David Chipperfield, Ingeborg Flagge, Shane OToole, Matthias Sauerbruch, Kazuyo Sejima, Deyan Sudjic, Alejandro Zaera-Polo.

Side Bar