Chemin de navigation

Left navigation

Additional tools

Autres langues disponibles: FR DE


Brussels, 8 May 2002

Classical Swine Fever in Germany, Luxembourg, France and Spain

The Standing Committee on the Food Chain and Animal Health voted in favour of European Commission proposals with regard to classical swine fever (CSF) in Germany, Luxembourg, France and Spain. The export of live pigs and porcine semen, ova and embryos from some areas bordering France, Germany and Luxembourg has been banned. For Spain, the existing measures, applicable until 31 May, will be extended until 30 June. The proposals will now be adopted by the Commission. The situation will be reviewed at the next meeting of the Committee, scheduled for 4-5 June.

Germany, Luxembourg and France

In recent months, outbreaks of classical swine fever (CSF) occured occasionally in pig holdings located in certain areas bordering Germany and Luxembourg where the disease is known to be present in feral pigs. Restrictive measures are already applicable in these areas. At the and of April an outbreak of CSF has also been confirmed in a pig holding in the Municipality of Cemery-les-Deux, department of Moselle in France and in a feral pig found dead in the same department. The French authorities have taken measures provided for in Council Directive 2001/89/EC of 23.10.2001 introducing EU measures for the control of CSF.

In the light of the tendency of the disease to spread further in the feral pig population and the repeated outbreaks occuring in domestic pigs, despite the measures already adopted, the Commission proposed to take further measures for the control of CSF in the whole zone concerned by the disease. The export of all live pigs and porcine semen, ova and embryos from the affected areas, which include some areas bordering France, Luxembourg and Germany, will be banned. A detailed list of these areas is given in annex.

The Commission will now formally adopt this proposal. It enters immediately into force and is applicable until 30 June 2002.


In spite of all the restrictive measures in place since several months, outbreaks of CSF continue to be reported in the comarca of Osona, province of Barcelona. The sixteenth outbreak of this year has now been confirmed.

Due to this situation, the existing measures, including a ban on the export of live pigs and porcine semen, ova and embryos from the province of Barcelona and the comarcas of Ripollès, Garrotxa and Selva in the province of Gerona in the autonomous region of Cataluña, now applicable until 31 May, will therefore be extended until 30 June.

Annex:  Areas in France, Germany and Luxembourg where the ban applies.

France:   - The territory of the departments Moselle and Meurthe-et-Moselle.

    Germany:  - The whole territory of Rhineland-Palatinate, except those areas located eastern of the river Rhine,

      - The following areas in Saarland:

          In the Kreise Merzig-Wadern: Mettlach, Merzig, Beckingen, Losheim, Weiskirchen, Wadern.

          In the Kreis Saarlouis: Dillingen, Bous, Ensdorf, Schwalbach, Saarwellingen, Nalbach, Lebach, Schmelz, Saarlouis.

          In the Kreis Sankt Wendel: Nonnweiler, Nohfelden, Tholey.

     - The following areas of North Rhine-Wesfalia: the Gemeinde of Dahlem, Blankenheim, Bad Muenstereifel und Stadt Euskirchen.

    Luxembourg: - The parts of the territory of Luxembourg located eastern of the motorway A3 (from the border with France to the city of Luxembourg) and the roads N7 and N9 (from the city of Luxembourg until Ettelbruck) and then southern of roads B7 and N19 (from Ettelbruck until the border with Germany).

Side Bar