Navigation path

Left navigation

Additional tools

Other available languages: FR DE ES


Brussels, 23 April 2001

European Union Prize for contemporary architecture awarded

Viviane Reding, Member of the European Commission responsible for Education and Culture, announced today that the European Union Prize for Contemporary Architecture - Mies van der Rohe Award - was awarded to Mr. Rafael Moneo for the conception and realisation of the "Kursaal Center" in San Sebastian (Spain). The special Mention for a young architect was awarded to Mr. Florian Nagler for the 'Kaufmann Holz Center AG" in Bobingen (Germany).

"Architecture is primarily a social and cultural phenomenon which must reflect people's needs and aspirations. By establishing this Prize the European Commission intends to promote exemplary projects in that respect" Viviane Reding said. The Prize and the special Mention will be handed over to the winners by the Commissioner, Mrs Viviane Reding, in the course of an official ceremony held at the premises of the Mies van der Rohe Pavilion in Barcelona on 23 April 2001.

The Prize and the special Mention are established within the framework of the "Culture 2000" programme. The organisation is assured by the Mies van der Rohe Foundation of Barcelona. This action intends to stimulate interest across a broad sector of the general public as well as that of national, regional and local authorities and the economic sector about the cultural significance of contemporary architecture and its impact on the present and future development of European cities. It also tries to encourage contemporary creation and to promote quality in European architecture as well as young talents, both established architects and young architects.

From over 200 entries, 40 projects were shortlisted for further examination by a jury consisting of 9 experts in the field of architecture and presided over by Mr. Vittorio Magnano Lampugnani. Out of these, the jury visited four projects before it reached its final recommendation on the winners of the Prize and of the special Mention for an up-starting architect.

The Prize consists of a sculpture representative of the Mies van der Rohe Pavilion in Barcelona and of the sum of 50.000 Euro and is granted as a recognition, in conceptual and technical terms, of projects designed and constructed during the last two years by European architects in Europe. The special Mention consists of the same sculpture (without any financial reward) and is granted to an emerging architect under the same conditions concerning date and place of construction.

For further information contact (CV of the winners, etc.):

Christophe Forax

Spokesman for Education and Culture European Commission

(Tel. 00 32 2 295 69 64)

Mies van der Rohe Foundation: Mr Joan Jordi

(+34 93 215 10 11/e-mail:


Side Bar