Navigation path

Left navigation

Additional tools

Other available languages: FR DE IT SL


Luxembourg, 22 July 2010


A new European Court of Auditors medal

The European Court of Auditors’ new medal will be based on a design by Mrs Nathalie Landot. According to the artist, “the new medal illustrates the Court of Auditors’ place within Europe”. Mrs Landot explains: “the map of Europe blends into interlinking arabesques of figures (…). The 12 stars of the European flag surround the illustration in a gentle spiral, symbolising Europe’s gradual enlargement towards new horizons and the growing importance of its place in the world. The numerical figures appear to extend on towards infinity.”

By producing this new medal, the Court is symbolically marking the 35th anniversary of the signing of the Treaty of Brussels of 22 July 1975 which established the European Court of Auditors.

Following a competition launched at European level, the jury, made up of Mr Vítor Caldeira, President, two senior officials of the Court and six Luxembourgish experts in the field of fine arts, was required to choose from amongst 52 designs received from 10 Member States.

The four winners are: Nathalie Landot (France), Benjamin Koren (Slovenia), Antonella De Rose (Italy) and Roman Krohs (Germany).

The jury decided also to award consolation prizes to Miss Kavita Sharma and Miss Sheila Appelbaum, from the 'Fine Arts' section of the Lycée Michel Rodange in Luxembourg.

The prizes will be presented at the opening of the exhibition of all of the designs on 17 September 2010, on the day following the 900th meeting of the Court of Auditors.

Communication and reports – Press Service

12, rue Alcide De Gasperi - 1615 Luxembourg - LUXEMBOURG
Tél. +352 4398-45410 - Fax +352 4398-46410 - Mobile +352 621552224

Side Bar