Navigation path

Left navigation

Additional tools


22 January 2007

Press and Information


22 January 2007

* * *

Solemn undertaking given before the Court of Justice by two new members of the European Commission

Formal sitting of 22 January 2007

Following the accession of the Republic of Bulgaria and Romania to the European Union on 1 January 2007, the Council of the European Union has appointed Ms Meglena Kuneva and Mr Leonard Orban as members of the European Commission for the period from 12 January 2007 to 31 October 2009.

At noon today the Court of Justice held a formal sitting at which those two new members of the European Commission gave their solemn undertaking in accordance with the Treaties.

Unofficial document for media use, not binding on the Court of Justice.

Languages available: all

For further information, please contact Christopher Fretwell
Tel: (00352) 4303 3355 Fax: (00352) 4303 2731

Pictures of the formal sitting are available on EbS “Europe by Satellite”,
a service provided by the European Commission, Directorate-General Press and Communications,
L-2920 Luxembourg, Tel: (00352) 4301 35177 Fax: (00352) 4301 35249
ou B-1049 Bruxelles, Tel: (0032) 2 2964106 Fax: (0032) 2 2965956

Side Bar