Navigation path

Left navigation

Additional tools

Other available languages: none


Brussels, 19/06/2008

EESC urges member states to continue ratification of the Lisbon Treaty

At an extraordinary EESC Bureau meeting, held on 17 June 2008 in Portoroz, Slovenia the referendum result in Ireland on the Lisbon Treaty was discussed. The discussion followed a meeting between EESC President Dimitris Dimitriadis with Slovenian Prime Minister and President of the European Council, Janez Janša.

Following the Bureau meeting, EESC President Dimitris Dimitriadis stated: “We must respect the result of the Irish vote and now consider the way forward, but we must also respect the fact that 19 member states have already ratified the Lisbon Treaty."

He reiterated the EESC’s reserves about the procedure that led up to the Treaty: “We express our concern to the 'behind closed doors' process by which the Lisbon Treaty was drawn up, in comparison with the open method of the Convention which, in particular, allowed for a thorough consultation of organised civil society."

The President went on to say: The EESC stands, as it has always done, ready, willing and able to support the EU and its institutions in facilitating a structured a transparent dialogue with organised civil society. Civil society has played and will continue to play an important role in promoting European integration."

The President also supported the approach of the European Commission and more particularly the statement of President Barroso following the Irish referendum that 'the EU institutions and the Member States should continue the work of delivering for the citizens of Europe on issues like growth and jobs, social cohesion, energy security, climate change and fighting inflation'.

For more details, please contact:
Karel Govaert at the EESC Press Office,
99 rue Belliard, B-1040 Brussels
Tel.: +32 2 546 9396/9586; Mobile: +32 475 75 32 02
Press Releases: (English) (French)
The European Economic and Social Committee represents the various economic and social components of organised civil society. It is an institutional consultative body established by the 1957 Treaty of Rome. Its consultative role enables its members, and hence the organisations they represent, to participate in the Community decision-making process. The Committee has 344 members, who are appointed by the Council of Ministers.

Side Bar