Alphabetical index

We are migrating the content of this website during the first semester of 2014 into the new EUR-Lex web-portal. We apologise if some content is out of date before the migration. We will publish all updates and corrections in the new version of the portal.

Do you have any questions? Contact us.

The institutions, bodies and agencies of the union

Institutional affairs

Institutions, advisory bodies, financial bodies, inter-institutional services, agencies, etc., make up the structure that enables the Union to operate. The 'institutional triangle' is at the basis of this structure. It is formed by the Commission, representing the general interests of the Communities, the European Parliament, representing the peoples, and the Council, representing the Member States. These three institutions lay down the policies and legislative acts that apply throughout the EU.
The powers and responsibilities of these institutions, and the rules and procedures governing them, are laid down in the Treaties.

Legal notice | About this site | Search | Contact | Top